We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Twizel
from US$82.56
More Info
from US$61.85
More Info
from US$92.88
More Info
from US$82.56
More Info
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
125
55
26
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
55
26
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon sashimi lake pukaki mt cook picnic tables great sashimi soy sauce eat fresh road signs excellent view tour buses high country for sale sit outside the snow capped mountains pate worth a stop filet
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Great stop on cycle route , a chance to have a break . Salmon beautiful and fresh. Friendly staff but gets very busy.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank holidaynz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I had bought from the lady in the counter 3 packets of salmon sashimi altogether around 50 dollars. Took one pair of disposable chopsticks and forgot to take another pair. When I returned 3 minutes later to grab another pair from the same lay was told off that I “had to ask” and greeted with an unfriendly menacing look.

That’s called terrible customer service. Left a taste not even the freshest sashimi can wipe away. Disappointed.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtCookAlpineSalmon, Public Relations Manager at Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Oliver,

Thanks for the feedback and apologies our customer service wasn't up to our usual high standards. We'll ensure this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I just could not believe it. I walk into the information center to try and get tips on trekking around Mt Cook and here I am presented with insightful advice AND incredible salmon. And on top of it all you eat the amazing food while sitting outside with a wonderful view of the bluest lake you'll ever see! It is so bizarre and poetic at the same time. We had the salmon led afternoon because it was such a weird idea, then came back for lunch the day after, completely changing the programme of the day just to be able and eat that salmon again. Not to be missed! If only they also offered white wine it'd be perfection.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

No matter if you are driving north or south, you should make a stop here, for the great view and also this salmon shop. One of the best I've ever had. Very fresh, and it got that fresh salmon taste you can't find in most jap restaurants. The smoked pack is good, but you got to try the sashimi.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The salmon is the best of all the others in my view especially if you like it raw.
Buy a couple of thick skin on portions and remove the skin yourself.... its cheaper than prepared sashimi and every bit as nice.
Salmon pate is delicious with sourdoe bread from the twizel supermarket.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank weaviestephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews