We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,434)
Filter reviews
2,434 results
Traveller rating
1,436
701
203
54
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,436
701
203
54
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mama mia lovely hotel fishing boats pool area half board sugar reef dining room evening entertainment relaxing holiday thomson rep premium room the lion king entertainment team high standard plenty of sunbeds only gripe family room
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 2,434 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

3 of us (2 adults and a ten year old) have just had an enjoyable 2 night stay. The hotel is beautifully maintained and very clean. Our room was immaculate with a great view overlooking the stunning beach. The air con was a little hit n miss as it's only programmed to come on at 9pm and the second night it didn't work so we had to have an engineer. The room has tea and coffee making facilities so if you like a proper cuppa it's worth bringing your own t-bags! Plus the tv has BBC and ITV. We were half board and the food was great. Extensive breakfast selection and a themed Chinese for our evening meal. Our one criticism is there are no free drinks with the evening meal..not even water. A nice touch..on our first night we arrived at midnight and the restaurant had kept us back a selection of cold food which we weren't expecting. The staff at the hotel are really friendly aside from a few of the restaurant staff, who're a little abrupt. The kids club team and the activities team were really lively and if you've got little ones they'll enjoy the entertainment. The indoor pool, sauna and gym were very much like a spa but were handy to have.
There are a few downsides to this hotel...The pool was FREEZING..we knew from reviews it wasn't heated but with the sun we thought other reviewers might be being a bit picky. NOT SO....it was so cold our daughter didn't really want to swim and my partner said his bits and bobs had shrivelled to the size of olives!!! It's also really windy along this coast..which of course isn't the hotel's fault and that could be seen as a daft comment..but with the cold pool, even at temperatures of 28 it felt chilly and meant umbrellas were flipping over and things were blowing about. It also means the sandy beach can feel a bit like a sand storm.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Flossyfrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Flossyfrills,

Greetings from Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela. Thank you for sharing with all the Tripadvisor community your kind comments about your last holidays with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed everything during your holidays, from the facilities to the services in the hotel. We work hard everyday to offer the best service to our guest and there is not a better gift to welcome you. We will share your lovely words with all the staff to keep offering the best of us to you.

Looking forward to welcome you once again next year.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

You will have a wonderful relaxing holiday if you book this hotel. The staff are amazing and go out of the way to ensure you have a wonderful holiday. Food and facilities were excellent..Well done Melia

Room Tip: High floor, estuary view but not if you want the sun on your balcony for most of the day
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
2  Thank garynorthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gary,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us.

It is wonderful to learn of your satisfaction with our outstanding facilities and great staff! We are further pleased to know that you enjoyed the food. We are thankful for your kind, five-star rating and cannot wait to welcome you to Melia Atlántico Isla Canela for the next year.

Warm regards,

Guest Experience Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is a really nice clean, well run hotel. The food is generally good with the odd exception. There's a huge choice and really good tapas. Our second week was busier but we still managed to get seated each day without problems.
We found the reception a little slow and similarly to the rest of the world everyone seemed to be lost in technology and looking down at screens rather than engaging with customers. We were also put out that having hired bicycles for a week (to be fair, not from the hotel) We were told that a charge of 10 euros would be made each night for us to leave them in the underground car park other than that, we found most people generally helpful and willing to make our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SmithSusan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for thinking in Meliá Atlantico Isla Canela to spend your holidays and for sharing with all the Tripadvisor community your sincere words.

We would like to transmit to you our apologies because of the issues that you found during your check in process with us and we have taken minutes about all of them to keep improving to achieve our main goal, which is the complete satisfaction of all the guests who visit our establishment.

We will be really glad to show you on your next visit all our improvements and also it will be a pleasure to give you a warm welcome once again.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you need any further information about our hotel or any other of Melia Hotels International.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Stayed here 15 years ago and came back to celebrate our friends anniversary.Hotel overall very good,few mishaps,STAFF checked us in to wrong room and said it was the same as our friends IT was NOT and near the lift.No sleep first night,cost 60euro's the next day to move(my friends hubby would not move as they DID have the better room)we shared the cost!!New room had a smell,sink leaked,but had a GREAT view.Cost us 20 euro to get a cake made BUT staff did a great job making the lunch a special event. Entertainment team try very hard BUT so outdated yet other nationalities enjoy.Just us Brits I suppose.You can tell hotel had a facelift but yet still looks tired in places.DO NOT THINK that bar staff are friendly at all if you are British and as I was ignored quite a few times waiting for my bottled water or diet coke or coffee found that tedious.Location is beautiful beach fab and nice to be able to have long walks around resort.Very peaceful,doubt if we will go back.Food repetitive yes but LOTS of choice,so no moans there.Overall stay good but we have been to better

Room Tip: Higher floor,not room 2037 right next to lift and you hear it all the time
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgriffiths12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to let you know that we are truly regret that you did not feel satisfied with the experience in our hotel.
I am also disappointed to know that we did not fulfill your expectation because of some of our services . Anyway we really consider all the comments seriously.
Our priority is to make our clients happy and we would like to have the opportunity to show you our improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and give you a better stay in Meliá Atlántico!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Had a weeks holiday beginning June .Beautiful hotel clean comfortable room with breathtaking views. Very nice staff some good entertainment good facilities ...Now for the food we have never had such awful food tasteless fatty meats cold soups greasy bread and rolls terrible dining room so so noisy and small are where food is presented so everyone in the way of each other .When I pay half board I expect to be able to eat the food.Not much outside hotel for eating anything decent .Quite a run down area so was Isla Christina also Ayemonte was the same nothing much to do nice little marina and prom but look once you have seen it all really glad to come home NO I would not return and would not recommend until they sort out that disgusting food situation had read bad reviews about food and took no notice wish I had So you decide yourself ....

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SouthWalesMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we want to say thank you for choosing our establishment to spend your summer holidays and for taking part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

Receiving comments like the one that you are sharing, we will be able to keep improving our guest services to offer the best ones to our guests. Apologies for all the inconveniences that you found in our buffet restaurant.

Looking forward to give you a warm welcome one more time in Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela.

Best regards.

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews