We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Lion's Rest(Weligama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surfer(Weligama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W15(Weligama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
We Escape(Weligama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hangtime Hostel(Weligama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
298
44
9
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
44
9
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive chefchef sandeepweligama bayhead chefbig fishtides barkids clubpool barf b managersri lankaall day dining restaurantfront desk managerquan spabreakfast buffetkitchen restaurantwarm hospitalityguest services
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is excellent with lots of activities to do, from swimming to surfing. The rooms themselves are really nice and well laid out with all the required amenities.

The only real negative is that the dinner service is poorly organized where its in two sitting and the sitting themselves are not managed. The food though is very good with an excellent selection

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Channagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. It was truly a pleasure to have you stayed at the Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy that you like the hotel and enjoyed the overall Experience. Thank you for being so generous and recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor®. My team joins me in passing their regards to you. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards, Elton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two nights with the kids here and the room and the beach was fabulous. Can’t think of a more kid friendly beach or a better place for anybody to learn surfing
Check-in was smooth and the rooms were beautifully designed. Marriot standards are met with rooms having all the necessary amenities. Only thing was that the towels were not as absorbent as I would have liked them to be.
Watch out though the extras are very expensive. Two glasses of house wine was 3000 bucks. Same I would pay for a bottle anywhere else.
I must say the executive chef was just outstanding. He was present at every meal and made sure the guests had what they wanted to eat. Truly exceptional. They must include tea or coffee after lunch/ dinner at the buffet. That is a standard in Sri Lanka.
We had our bell ring in the room past 11 pm cause we had forgotten to sign for our wine. That could have waited till morning!
Overall the location is perfect and will definitely be heading back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing and commending us. It’s my pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time staying with us and our associates added value to your experience.

We welcome your suggestions and very well noted your concerns. Tea/ Coffee facility is available throughout but it’s only offered free as a part of the Breakfast buffet. We also have introduced Happy hours for our guests who are concerned on the price point. We apologies for any inconvenience you may have faced during your stay at our property. We will address these issues on priority.

It’s delighting to you know that your entire family enjoyed the beach and surfing in Weligama.
We thank you for such impressive comments and the same has been shared with my team here. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just one day stay in Marriott ,but I got a amazing service.I’m traveling alone in Sri Lanka,Mr.Chamara gave me many many great suggestions,it makes my travel easier.
He also good at photography,help me take many good photos.So nice to meet him,and have a great time in Marriott

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Q_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa and sharing this wonderful feedback with us.
We are very happy to hear back from you and to know how much you appreciate our hospitality.

Your kind words towards the hotel, the services and the customer friendly experience that you enjoyed during your stay is much appreciated. We thank you for recognizing Chamara for his valuable contribution to making your stay brilliant.

Thank you for being so generous and recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor®. My team joins me in passing their regards to you.
We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to the hotel only to delight you with an experience to cherish from.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights Easter 2018 wished it could of been longer! Luxurious room, fab view of the bay, lovely swimming pools & restaurant particularly liked the opportunity to try out different Sri Lankan fruits at breakfast, hot cross buns Easter Sunday and returning to our room in the afternoon to find a little Easter egg each! Perfect beach setting fabulous sunset walk along beach lots of different places to try out seafood in the evening. Short tuk tuk ride to Mirissa beach for a change 2nd evening. A welcome message before arriving at hotel, on arrival staff sorted joining rooms out for our group, room service was prompt, all staff were courteous with a special thanks to Naleen and Rashmika and teams for excellent housekeeping. A great stay would love to return one day!

Room Tip: All rooms with a sea view
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank p4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa!

We are happy to hear back from you based on your recent visit to the hotel.

Your kind words towards the hotel, the services and the customer friendly experience that you enjoyed during your stay is much appreciated. We thank you for recognizing Naleen and Rashmika for their outstanding services.
Thank you for being so generous and recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor®. My team joins me in passing their regards to you.

We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to the hotel only to delight you with an experience to cherish from.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were given a very warm welcome at Marriott Weligama. We checked in early yet they managed to provide us a room by 12noon within 5 minutes of our arrival even though check in was 3pm. The rooms were very cosy and state of the art and plush. I ordered food from the room service menu which arrived on the dot and immediately I got a call from the reception asking if the food was alright. This kind of service should be appreciated. Kids had ample things to do as they got a" kids club" Every staff member greats you and makes u feel very welcome. Even at dinner the staff walks around offering different varieties of food for us to try out. We just loved the experience at Marriott hotel weligama. we did not even get this kind of service at Marina Bay sands Singapore. Please maintain service levels like this. The food though needs improvement specially dinner. They need to have a good mutton curry , chicken curry and pork on the sri lankan menu for the dinner buffet.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lukshan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa and caring to share this valuable feedback with us.
We appreciate your kind words about the friendly and professional associates at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy you enjoyed dining in our restaurants and noted your comments for improvement of food. It’s delighting to know that you had world class service from our very own Sri Lankan property.
We are happy that you enjoyed our Kids club facility and other services. we constantly work in providing a great service to our customers. Thank you for being so generous and recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor®. My team joins me in passing their regards to you.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews