We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Illflyyyawayo
Maryland

Worth every penny.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jun 2021via mobile
I booked the Moana Surfrider for the location, right in the middle of everything Waikiki. We had a corner room in the tower with city and ocean facing lanais. Those views! The room wasn’t cheap and could use an upgrade, otherwise everything was super clean and in good working order. Mahalo to the wonderful front desk and housekeeping teams, they really helped set the tone for this long awaited post Covid trip.
Date of stay: June 2021
Room Tip: Use the parking garage, super convenient.
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Aloha Illflyyyawayo,

Mahalo for sharing your feedback with fellow online travelers regarding your visit to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. We appreciate your generous compliments, and we are pleased you enjoyed our energizing location. Our associates are committed to providing intuitive and thoughtful service in the true Hawaiian spirit, and mahalo for recognizing all that they do. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,
Kyle A.
Resident Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$2,612
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    HK$2,997
  • Vio.com
    HK$2,557
  • Hotels.com
    HK$3,396
0.2 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$4,645
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Trip.com
    HK$4,645
  • Agoda.com
    HK$4,123
  • Booking.com
    HK$4,645
0.6 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Beachfront
HK$3,296
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$3,296
  • Vio.com
    HK$3,031
  • Trip.com
    HK$3,267
0.4 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
HK$2,647
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,647
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,647
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,647
0.1 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Beachfront
HK$2,514
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,514
  • Vio.com
    HK$2,038
  • Official Site
    HK$2,514
1.8 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
HK$1,202
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,883
  • Vio.com
    HK$927
  • Agoda.com
    HK$955
0.4 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Pool
HK$1,615
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,788
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,208
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,788
0.5 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,991
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,088
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,053
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,593
0.9 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,398
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,398
  • Agoda.com
    HK$961
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,316
9.9 km from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (6,829)
Filter reviews
6,829 results
Traveller rating
3,428
1,827
804
392
378
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,428
1,827
804
392
378
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the banyan tree rocking chairs tower wing oldest hotel waikiki beach beautiful hotel heavenly bed original building ocean view diamond head resort fee an umbrella our honeymoon per day the royal hawaiian an upgrade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 6,829 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

We walked pass by the Moana Surfrider Westin hotel in our last trip to Oahu in 2020 and had a drink at the bar under the banyan tree. We loved this location and historic feels of the hotel. We decided to try this hotel in our Oahu trip in 2021.

Parking was the only pain that hindered our experience. There is no onsite self park, and it took some time to get into the drive way every time we went back to hotel. But getting the car from valet was on time.

Checkin was smooth with Samson. Everything was well explained.

We had the Tower premier ocean room on 19th floor with view of Diamond head and the ocean. The view was spectacular. Our room was spacious with a balcony.

Kudos to Winnie at the front desk. She offered great help arranging our checkout process and applying Marriott gift cards to pay my stay. Winnie is definitely with top level customer obsession and raising the bar of hospitality in the resorts in US. As a Marriott Titanium and Lifetime Platinum member, I’d really like to see her leading the team not only at this property but also raising the bar of customer obsession for other properties in the US.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank yama_since_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2021

The staff here is amazing and I personally wouldn't stay anywhere else in Waikiki. Kyle gave us a fantastic room for our honeymoon which really made it special. I had an issue with my QR code at check-in and Josh was really helpful and patient in getting it resolved for us. The food/drinks were always delicious and the hotel is clean and in a great location. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Brooksore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2021

Aloha Brooksore88,

Mahalo for choosing Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach for this special time in your life. We are glad you both had an enriching stay and that you were impressed with our thoughtful hospitality. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,
Kyle A.
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

Very nice hotel and worth 4 or 5 stars except…..the pool is tiny, you need to claim a chair about 6:00 AM if you want one and most are in the sun. A beach umbrella and chairs must be reserved at 7:00 AM the day before as there are so few. Great location but not a choice if you want to sit by the pool or the beach.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank hagerrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

Aloha,

Mahalo for choosing us for your Waikiki Beach visit. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay. We are grateful for all of your feedback, and we will share your comments with the appropriate individuals to ensure review of procedures. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Kyle A.
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

I had a few special requests that were so nicely handled by the General Manager, Kyle, who was such a stellar professional and seasoned General Manager to run and oversee a large resort, and the most famous resort in Waikiki. Everything was met and exceeded my expectations with perfection!

I was thrilled to see most dining and bars open on-site and fully staffed at the resort. The staff was very accommodating and even had extra tables in the banyan tree area for the influx of holiday and eagerly awaiting vacationers to “break free” and finally have a get-away. I really enjoyed the wine bar on the weekends as you were able to order ala carte from the Veranda menu and have smaller portions. Additionally, a dedicated serving staff was in attendance on the Friday and Sunday at Vintage 1901. The banyan tree Bar crew was so efficient and friendly and did their best and I was happy to see social distancing in place at the bar and in the dining table area – most everyone respected it and the staff appreciated it. The pool side café was a favorite! They were open and so well stocked and priced well – the staff, there too, along with the other Food and Beverage teams really went above and beyond to help everyone.

The guests during my stay were so friendly and talkative, kind, polite (even if some guests asked other guests to put on a mask, everyone obliged) – I believe many had not been away from their home towns/mainland since COVID19, therefore, everyone was so friendly and chatty on-site and around the city.

The self-parking was worth it – It was just across the street at their sister hotel, the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani and easy to find/locate and a quick exit on the side street to avoid the busy traffic on the main boulevard.

A big special Thank You to the amazing housekeeping staff! It was such a nice treat to have my room serviced DAILY during as most resorts are only offering every few days or only once week. The Moana Surfrider housekeeping team was “on top of it” and serviced every room daily, on time with a full cleaning procedure! Even my lanai was moped down regularly. All the common areas, elevators, lobby and carpeting were vacuumed daily. Finally, they were all so friendly and professional it was nice to see the crew every day.

I will return to the Moana Surfrider again before the summer ends! I’m saving up for the Beach Club Lounge!

My entire stay and time really brought me back with calm and sense of normalcy.

Thank you to the entire Moana Surfrider team who made my visit so memorable and special.

Room tip: Tower Rooms are more spacious
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TPIMENTEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Partial ocean view was a view of the roof of the hotel next to us. I uploaded a picture. Was told all partial ocean views were the same. If that’s the case, think twice. View last time was spectacular, this is horrible.

Very disappointed. Will not be back.

Room tip: Avoid room 1885
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank ljdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Aloha ljdf,

Mahalo for the review of your time at our hotel. We regret that we did not provide you with a seamless and meaningful stay for which we are known. We apologize for any miscommunication, and your feedback has been shared with appropriate individuals. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again and show you our commitment to exceptional hospitality.

Mahalo,
Kyle A.
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews