We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
24
15
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
15
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flush toilets wild horses bison quiet hours tent camping make reservations ranger privacy sites trees neighbors spaced campground park restrooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2019 via mobile

We loved this campground! It was one of the quietest places we’ve ever camped. It was simple and beautiful. Only complaint would be that the bathhouse didn’t have any soap (luckily we had our own). The scenery in TRNP is gorgeous. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank 170shannonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2019

Cottonwood Campground Site 17 Theodore Roosevelt National Park - traffic in the north loop flows clockwise. I reserved drive through site 17 expecting my camper door to face west, away from the road. However, you go left when starting the campground loop instead of right. Site 17 is large and has multiple areas for setting up camp. There is a picnic table and grill but no fire ring. There’s a bluff behind the site. The campground is beautiful just like the rest of the park. We saw a lot of bison and wild horses driving the scenic loop but did not see any near the campground.

Room tip: Traffic in the north loop flows clockwise
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
Thank NSimoneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Camped here 2 nights. The bison meandering thru the campground the first day was absolutely astounding. They are so beautiful. The campground is perfectly situated on the river. The bathrooms were clean and neat. Would recommend campsite 53 if available.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mlc2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

We planned to stay in the North Unit at Juniper Campground, but ended up snagging a spot here early on a weekday afternoon. The spots are set into trees/brush, so you get some privacy. The campground was full by evening, but definitely didn’t feel crowded because the sites offer some privacy. The camp hosts were super nice. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2019

Because this campground fills up so quickly, I expected it to be wonderful. It was a major disappointment. Loud highway noise travels up the river and you’ll hear noise from the Medora Musical fireworks at 9:30. The water tastes terrible and bathrooms leave a lot to be desired.

The camping in the north unit is much better—more serene, less smelly, and better facilities. The one advantage of this campground is its proximity to the larger south unit.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 727ayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews