We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable getaway midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The Lodge on the Desert has been significantly remodeled the last few years adding amenties, upgrading and updating rooms and facilities. A Quiet getaway in the middle of Tucson with an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: Old historic casitas have fireplaces, new rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SoazKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Soaz Karen,

The staff and I very much appreciate your taking your time to let us know of your experience at the Lodge on the Desert. We always hope to know how we can improve our hotel and comments such as yours provide us with the information we look for.

I hope to welcome you back to the Lodge on the Desert.

Jim Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay at the Lodge on the Desert, although it is not in an ideal location if you want to walk out for a drink or to a restaurant in the evening.
The hotel is beautifully designed around a number of courtyards with colourful, clever planting as well as the pristine greensward. Our corner, ground-floor room in one of the single-story blocks was very large, well equipped and comfortable with a table and chairs outside.
The pool was very welcome and well-furnished, although when we were there it became shady and chilly in the afternoon.
The Cielos restaurant was a delight, particularly sitting outside by the fire. We ate dinner there on two occasions, on one of which we were very kindly bought a drink by the co-owner and manager of the hotel. On the other hand, breakfast was a bit hit and miss; we must have been late risers and many things had run out (the hotel was quite full whilst we were there). When available, the croissants were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear KitSuffikk_UK

The staff and I very much appreciate your taking your time to let us know of your experience at the Lodge on the Desert. We always hope to know how we can improve our hotel and comments such as yours provide us with the information we look for.

I hope to welcome you back to the Lodge on the Desert.

Jim Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We thought that this hotel was nearly perfect for our one-night stay while visiting the Saguaro National Park. It is conveniently located, beautifully maintained, with well-appointed clean rooms. Ours was on the mountain side of the hotel, so we had a bonus view. Breakfast was also very good (excellent coffee and delicious bread pudding were the highlights for us). I've seen some reviews on TA that were not complimentary of this hotel, and I wonder where they stayed or if they may have been having a bad day.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThomasGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We spent three days here in November 2017 and I would go back in a heartbeat. The room was so clean, quiet and all the staff were very helpful. They have a beautiful pool and there is just a feeling of calm and relaxation. Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bluewaterWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear bluewaterWA

The staff and I very much appreciate your taking your time to let us know of your experience at the Lodge on the Desert. We always hope to know how we can improve our hotel and comments such as yours provide us with the information we look for.

I hope to welcome you back to the Lodge on the Desert.

Jim Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Love the look and the ambiance of Lodge on the Desert, hacienda feel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. For an "easterner" it was like being in a magical place. My son and I loved the restaurant atmosphere and the food was fantastic. Stayed there years ago with my mother. Anytime I am in Tucson I plan on staying there. Hopefully next spring with my sister.

Room Tip: There are the orginal units and a new section. Couldn't tell you which is best as I like the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathleen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Kathleen E,

Thank you for the comments about your recent stay at the Lodge. It is wonderful hearing that you will possibly be returning next spring with your sister. I am looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.4 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
742 reviews
11.7 km away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
5.4 km away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#24 of 129 in Tucson
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
12.6 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
9.2 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: HK$1,095 - HK$2,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing