We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,339)
Filter reviews
2,339 results
Traveller rating
1,146
720
279
128
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,146
720
279
128
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pusch ridge oro valley junior suite pool area the main hotel main pool tennis courts mountain view lobby bar catalina mountains golf course beautiful property bit dated great pool hot tub fitness center casita
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,339 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a small problem with our room choice due to the hotel being fully booked when we made our reservations. Johnny (at the front desk) did his best to find us a good room. When no more rooms were available he gave us a Casita with a wonderful view and quiet place to stay for not extra cost. It made our stay very enjoyable and I thank him from the bottom of my heart! Jim at the Sundance Restaurant is the BEST waiter. Going out of his way to give us everything we asked for every morning for a week. Mariah, the hostess, is the most cheerful person and we looked forward to seeing her smiling face each day. This was our second stay at the El Conquistador and we look forward to visiting again this Christmas.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back during the holiday season.

Michael Platt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelers visiting Tucson will find lots to like at the Hilton El Conquistador Resort. If you're the type of traveler who likes to take advantage of amenities "on property" or dreams of rolling out of bed, saddling up and exploring the open range on horseback, you might want to wait for a bit to visit. The Pusch Ridge golf course re-opens on November 1st after reseeding and the property is currently between providers for the stables (currently bereft of horses).

High points:

A beautiful, quiet setting with a easy 2.5 mile hike in the foothills right at the resort with lots of fun saguaro cacti and desert creatures to admire.

Spacious accommodations (especially in the "Sunset Hospitality Suites" -- highly recommended), super-fun family pool scene, slide and even a chilled pool when the temps become toasty.

Tasty breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, oatmeal, an omelet and waffle bar... the works!

Friendly, helpful concierge and staff with abundant bell staff at the ready to help.

Nice fitness center next to the spa with free weights in addition to the usual cardio machines and a serene "adult" pool for guests age 16+ looking to avoid the cavalcade of excitement at the main pool.

The candid:

This property was constructed in 1982 (as a Sheraton). Of course formica has been swapped for granite in the bathrooms and such, but the resort reflects the architecture and styling of the early 1980s.

The sound insulation between the suites is suboptimal. If your neighbors are garrulous or amorous (or both!) you might be able to catch every word and excited utterance.

The F&B operations often seemed overwhelmed, although the staff was trying its best. We waited 35 minutes to be seated for breakfast in the Sundance Cafe, but larger parties were informed that the wait would be over an hour... and this was when a full self-service buffet should have mitigated some of the impact on the servers.

The onsite tennis center boasts 16 on-site tennis courts BUT they are only open from 7am to noon on weekends (there are evening hours during the week). This makes sense during a sizzling Tucson summer, but in October?

Lastly, it may have been a function of the U of A home football game being in town, but a number of guests in the Colibri lobby lounge were whooping it up with increasingly "spicy" language as the evening wore on. On another evening, a woman who was beyond plastered was engaging in what could only be charitably described as a "lover's quarrel" with her companion outside the porte-cochère with expletive-rich shouts that reverberated off the hills.

Room Tip: Sunset Hospitality Suites -- Comfortable and Enormous
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jittery_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful location, and the hiking trails from the resort. We appreciate your feedback and will review your comments with our staff.

Michael Platt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently visited Tucson for a conference located at this resort. What a pleasant surprise. Beautiful place to stay, highly recommended. The staff here make the resort even better. Stepping out in the morning to the beautiful views will have you taking pictures. the grounds are immaculate too.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank BR549yall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your recommendation and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Michael Platt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent two nights at this resort and enjoyed every minute of it. From arrival to departure the staff could not have been nicer. We were greeted by Nic at the front door, and he later assisted up to our suite. Exceptional service by him, Matthew, and Brandon by the pool. Our suite was well decorated , the bed was comfortable, and we loved the fireplace. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. Definitely recommend this resort, and no doubt we will make several return trips.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Texastravler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for recognizing our team members. We look forward to your next visit.

Michael Platt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Beautiful property, could not stop looking at the scenery, georgous grounds, great on-property event sties, super nice catering staff. This hotel was surprizing, we had no idea how beautiful it was going to be when we arrived and were pleasantly surprised. We had a great event and never had to leave the grounds.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christine0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort and had a great event. We look forward to your next visit.

Michael Platt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews