We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Faye123_12
Melbourne, Australia

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Nov 2023via mobile
Central location in Franz Josef township within easy walking distance to restaurants and town services. A clean and comfortable motel with good wifi. Management (?Anthony) pleasant and helpful, nothing a problem.
Very good value for money.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Glacier View Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
0.8 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Glacier View Villa
Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main entrance
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
4.1 km from Glacier View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
82
97
39
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
97
39
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyable stay kitchen facilities a great place to stay motel town tv heater units microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2023

Travelling solo, from overseas , it's important to keep in touch, that's not going to happen at the glacier view motel. No phone signal, advertised WiFi not while I was there apparently being repaird somewhere up the road. Tv remote didn't work, the input bitten had been glued so you couldn't use the chromecast if I had wifi/phone signal.
A very dated set up, I would spend a little more money and find somewhere a bit more comfortable.

Room tip: Don't expect technology.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2023

A few Kms north of town, and yes does have the Glacier View.
Kitchen facilities Crockery cutlery and glassware Kettle toaster and microwave and Clean as a whistle.

Heater in bathroom, windows that open, no air con but spare blankets.

A great place to stay on a overnighter!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank U4617TEshanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2023 via mobile

Quiet & clean, totally sufficient for overnight.
But it’s the little thing’s..
tv remote didn’t work unless half metre from box .. 😂 then got new batteries from office.. it still didn’t work apart from same distance… its the freeview box maybe…
no heating despite dropping to 7 degrees overnight…
curtains need fixing (looks like they were from my flat 20years ago), but still did the job…
And no mobile coverage (1 bar) . they say wifi but it was totally insufficient (like the old copper cable days when it did work)
Easy fixes to make a enjoyable stay

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 1977sisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2022 via mobile

Tired looking units. Disappointed that despite special requests for check in between 1pm & 2pm declined until earliest 3pm. Says en suite bathroom. … incorrect !
No ice tray or ice . No Sky tv ( although to be fair I now realise it’s not mentioned in the advertising).

Room tip: Much for the owners to address
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Apiculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2021

My wife and I and our two daughters spent 1 night at Glacier View Motel.
The accommodation was spacious and clean and consisted of 2 bedrooms with a queen bed in one room and 2 single beds in the other room. There was also a separate open plan lounge and kitchen area. The beds were comfortable and the views of the nearby mountains are lovely.
The location of the motel is good and it is a short 10 minute drive to the starting point of the scenic walk to the Franz Josef Glacier.
Overall, the Motel was an enjoyable and convenient stop-over.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank westonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews