We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia
Booking.com
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Hotels.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Agoda.comUS$74
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
171
174
54
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
174
54
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fire executive studio spa bath south island night stay stayed here for one night motel kitchenette forest glacier accommodation unit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2019

We stayed here for 2 nights. Unfortunately it rained almost the whole time we were there so we couldn't take advantage of our lovely mini-rain forest patio which you can see in some pics. Birds were regular visitors tho. We had a room with bedroom upstairs on mezzanine so there was plenty of space. Nice bathroom and shower. Tumble drier for your wet clothes!!
Kitchen perfectly adequate for simple meals.
Walking distance to town and Hot Pools (recommended!)
Reception staff were helpful and informative

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dee6jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

Excellent option for a good price. Simple and clean. The owners are very nice.
The shower is wonderful and the room is warm and cozy. I recommend it very much.
It doesn’t offer breakfast, but there are lots of places to eat near by.
You can do almost everything with no car. All the places are near by the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 November 2019

Really comfortable. Punga Grove does exactly what it says on the tin. It's basic but spacious, easy and straightforward and the bed was uber comfortable. A no nonsense type of stay. The only negative is that the bedroom is upstairs so going to the loo in the middle of the night means a walk downstairs. That can be a little tricky in the dark!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gheades
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

Lovely cheerful welcoming staff set the tone for a very pleasant stop over in this great motel centrally located with a dramatic backdrop of mountains.
Our room, Tui, was spacious and comfortable and had a back veranda opening into a private rainforest style garden, peaceful and serene.
The king bed was very comfortable, there was a gas fireplace, a kitchenette and a big bathroom featuring a giant heated mirror that doesn’t mist up.
Only a few steps to cafes restaurants and other attractions.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ElvisPKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 November 2019

Nice and comfortable stay for stop over at Franz Josef. 2 bed room apartment on ground floor was very spacious and with well equipped kitchenette. heaters were provided in all rooms . near by walking distance to cafe and grocery store. Reception was warm and welcoming. Box breakfast was excellent. Real Value for money.

Room tip: two bedroom apartment next to Reception
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmpatel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews