We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
151
163
52
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
163
52
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas log fire small patio executive studio south island one night bedroom unit hot pools two nights spa bath short walk in town central location fox glacier franz joseph free wifi fantastic stay restaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were warmly received by host Graham and were fortunate to have a ground floor south facing room. These rooms enjoy an outdoor balcony facing a small rainforest. Lovely feature. The room was clean and modern; typically motel, but in a warm nostalgic way. Graham was very helpful and accommodating, with great tips on the town. Franz Josef isn't a large town; all restaurants and shops are walking distance. Please dismiss the negative single contribution made below, we didn't get sick or become suspicious of any cleanliness matters -- it's a great place to stay.

Room tip: Ground floor, south-facing rooms
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enn_Kay_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very impressed by the size of our huge suite with its excellent cooking facilities and two private patios; a covered one at the front and a seating area set into the rainforest at the back. The motel is right in the centre of the town and convenient for the supermarket, shops, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. Staff were friendly and helpful, though the wifi was poor.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Themedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Try to get an apartment on ground floor, and you can sit on a small terrace in the rain forest ! everything ok, check in strictly at 2 p.m.-, not a minute earlier; kitchen, bath, beds ok, restaurants in walking distance nearby

Room tip: Ground floor with rain forrest seating !
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauls-beisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I check Trip Advisor before dining out, going on tours and staying at hotels. I always disregard the 1 star reviews if it is the reviewers first review. Usually sour grapes. The majority of reviews for Punga Grove were to my satisfaction which is why we stayed here. We arrived too early to check in but were allowed to leave our luggage in a secure room off the office. It looked like rain and we were loaned umbrellas. When we did get our room key we were personally shown to our room. We had an executive studio room which is one of several in behind the main rooms. It was wonderful. Spacious, clean, kitchenette with 2 burner cooktop, all the kitchenware we needed. The bathroom is huge with a jetted tub/shower combo. There is a fireplace for chilly evenings and a floor fan for warm ones. A large patio with 2 chairs and a table leads off the living room area which has a comfy leather couch and armchair. Comfy king sized bed. Really, we didn’t want for anything. The rainforest is right off the patio and we loved listening to the birds and cicadas. This place isn’t fancy but we don’t expect fancy when we’re in the mountains. I’d definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank 86calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

We stopped in here for the night on our way through to Queenstown. The woman at the front desk was lovely, very helpful & friendly. She was happy to give us advice & directions to things & even supplied us with towels to use at the hot pools down the road. Our apartment was clean & comfortable but did feel a bit dark & dated. The free WIFI was terrible & our bathroom seemed to have a serious drainage problem whenever we used the basin or had a shower. Good location.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AWTYblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews