We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
150
160
52
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
160
52
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas log fire small patio executive studio south island one night bedroom unit two nights spa bath hot pools short walk in town central location fox glacier franz joseph nice stay living area would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2019

We booked a 2-bedroom unit for 5 pax.
It is spacious, as there is ample space in the living and dining areas, plus a kitchenette. Most motels are much smaller. There is only 1 toilet.
Although the exterior is a little old, the interior is neat and clean. They even provide electrically heated blankets. Hosts/boss are friendly.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HCG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Very comfortable suite with fireplace, spa and the rainforest right at the back door. The manager couldn’t have been any more helpful. We blew a tyre on our way up here and by the time we had settled in to our room she had it sorted for our repairs to be done. Bravo!!! Really happy with the quality of the room and the service. Such a pretty little place Franz Josef is. Would definitely love to see this place in the snow.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 658leonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

Our family of 3 spent 2 nights in a one bedroom unit quite comfortably. The location is gorgeous & easy access to sightseeing. Sheryl, Marley & the staff went beyond expectations to provide excellent service- cheers!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank goldenage18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Far enough away from the noise from other venues but close enough to be within walking distance of amenities.

Met at reception by very helpful staff who provided towels for us to use at the hot springs up the road. Shown to our rooms rather than just being told, which was good.

Had a couple of issues: wonky toilet seat and the sofa had not been hoovered (full of crumbs) but these were dealt with immediately that we reported them.

We were given a 20% discount voucher at Alice Mary's restaurant up the road, which I can heartily recommend.

A really nice stay for 2 nights.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

It was a two night stay as part of our tour of South Island. The setting for this motel is very attractive, surrounded by luxuriant foliage plants. We had an executive suite to the rear of the property. Parking was tight, and it was a case of taking a slot as close to our room as possible as they were not assigned by room.

The room itself was fine - pretty roomy with a comfortable and large double bed. There was no sound transfer from adjoining rooms. The bathroom was large with a spa bath although this did not seem to function properly. The kitchen area was cramped which made cooking / washing up a bit of a juggling act. There were cupboards which could have done with extra shelving to provide additional storage.

As others have said in previous reviews, internet is generally poor, only working acceptably early in the morning.

The motel is a good base for exploring local attractions - with Fox Glacier being a 30 minute drive back down the SH6. Currently it is easier to get a close look at the Franz Josef Glacier than the Fox Glacier - the Fox Glacier road is closed and is likely to be so for several months due to landslides.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews