We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, friendly staff. Vegan options ”

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, bar meals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Choose from over 40 different gin's, have a create your gonna experience Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a friendly welcome we had. The place was quiet so didn’t wait long for our food but it was only average. We only ate here once for that reason and ate at the blue Ice the next day which was much more palatable. Disappointing as we’d read that the food was amazing. We didn’t agree. It was edible only because we were hungry. We had vegan pizza. My daughter had vegan nachos and said it was really good however so maybe it depends what you have.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank travelavecmonamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of options here to be indoors or out in various settings. Good food and complimentary beer if guest.
Large group came just after me so had to wait for my food...maybe I should have got served first. Staff very good. Highly recommend
Ok

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had an amazing meal, staff very polite and friendly. good prices they had the open fire on which was really nice as it was a cold summers day!!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Spageenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia11691, Other at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Kate,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your meal.

Cheers,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food were awesome. The people were great. The service was pretty poor though as our food took 2 hours to get served. Not cool. We got super hungry.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank n0mad000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia11691, Other at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

First of all I'm really glad you enjoyed the food and the friendly staff we have at the Monsoon Restaurant. I can only apologise for the wait you endured, from the date visited I can see you were here during our 3 week peak season where the entire town went to 100% capacity for the first time since Covid. We loved that the restaurant was back to it's busy self, but this did also put a huge strain on us as we have been working with a skeleton staff since lockdown due to how quiet it has been. Our staff were well aware about the wait times, which were up to an hour during these 3 weeks, and they were informing customers upon their arrival of the wait to make sure there were no unpleasant surprises.

We really appreciate your custom, and if you're ever back in Franz Josef please contact me directly so I can look after you second time around.

Cheers,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021

Great bar, restaurant, pool tables... Had the open fires roaring on a cold, wet summer's night. Food was fantastic- had pork crackling, ribs and best gluten-free pizza I have had anywhere. Staff were efficient and friendly. Definitely recommend here for evening meal.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank 317lynned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia11691, Other at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lynne,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we really appreciate it and hope to have you back one day (hopefully next time in the sunshine!)

Cheers,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Hong Kong SAR
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.