We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
228
154
37
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
154
37
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms two bedroom apartment middle of town comfortable bed would definitely stay here again motel alice glacier kitchen microwave coast west mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

We booked a two bedroom apartment for two adults and two children on a two night special. The apartment was extremely clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Of note the shower was really awesome with great pressure. The welcome we received was very warm and welcoming.
Just 5 minutes walk away we found glow worms which were a highlight of our children's stay.
We would definitely stay again if on the coast and would highly recommend this motel! Thanks Alan and team for your hospitality, most appreciated.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Allan Glen, Owner at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2022

Hi Anna,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location.

We hope you can come back and stay with us again soon, when you do, please book directly on our own website for our lowest prices.

We hope the rest of your trip went well.

Kind Regards,

Gaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021

Absolutely lovely well presented Motel and so close to all the amenities the town has to offer. We were invited to look at several rooms which was very kind, very helpful staff member, she was just delightful. Room was very quiet on the whole quite clean and tidy, little mould on top of the sink in the bathroom against the wall but everything else was great. Except ... the bed, it was sooo hard!!! Could have had a better nights sleep on the floor, thought is was just me but hubby also tossed and turned all night and shared my sentiments in the morning. What a lovely little town that is feeling the affects of no tourism

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarenR5589
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Allan Glen, Owner at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2022

Hi Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, customer feedback is very important to us.
We are very happy to hear you found our staff very helpful and the room is cleaned and tidy. Thank you for pointing out there is little mould on top of the sink against the wall, we will defiantly pay more attention to all the small corners. I am sorry that you found the bed is hard but we have good feedbacks from other customers perviously. We also have another room types with super king size bed and we hope you can stay with us again to try it in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021 via mobile

Super place to stay. So clean & spacious. Bed very comfortable. Parking at front door.
Bit of paradise here, birds singing, mountain views. Super lovely helpful young lady at front desk, she even offered to help carry our bags into room. Lovely restaurant right next door.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Allan Glen, Owner at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Hi Jennie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found everything satisfactory. We hope you can stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2021

We stayed 3 nights in May,arrived late after our drive from Stewart Island. Second day poured with rain but still managed to walk around the Village. Lovely views of the mountains and Croz glacier once weather cleared. We had the studio with mountain views and kitchen, large unit, neat and tidy. A great motel, friendly staff and owner. The only gripe was the dish wash detergent was not refilled, in spite of us leaving it on the bench - surely a good hint??

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Allan Glen, Owner at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2021

Hi Kayesey,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the room neat and tidy.

I am sorry our housekeep team did not refill the detergent. I will remind them and make sure it won't be happen again.

We hope you can stay with us again in the future, when you do please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

Kind Regards,

Gaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021

Meet by very friend staff, room was comfortable. Very clean and a nice space. Mountains were in the back - amazing view. Very handy to restaurants and activities. Restaurant was just next door and town just down road.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CMDobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Allan Glen, Owner at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2021

Hi

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable.

We hope you can stay with us again in the future, when you do please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

Kind Regards,

Gaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews