We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pumpkin and carrot soup is to die for”
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Take a step back in time and immerse yourself in the story of Alice May Parkinson along with some mouth-watering food and great ambience. Spectacular views of the Southern Alps can be appreciated from our courtyard. Alice May prides itself in serving traditional New Zealand homemade food. We welcome locals and visitors to call in for a delicious freshly cooked meal and beverages. We offer a range of beer and cider from a West Coast Brewery and a selection of NZ wines.
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

Pumpkin and carrot soup is to die for. Had the ribeye and pork which were both beautiful. Amazing story surrounding the restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank MaePEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2022

When I say we went to Alice May every day of our trip I am not joking.
Whitebait omelette, croquettes as well and the delicious sticky toffee pudding - We ate this every day.... Can not fault it. The beef cheeks are also really yummy, especially on a cold day! Also, Lovely staff and cozy atmosphere :)

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amberkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2022 via mobile

Excellent food. Excellent service. Really nice ambiance. Gets a 10 out of 10 from me.
Don’t miss this little gem.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank Calmac12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 July 2022

We ate dinner here in June. We definitely enjoyed our food, good Kiwi tucker and I really enjoyed reading about the back story to the name of this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank KiwiChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 July 2022

Me and my family came here for dinner while we stopped in Franz Josef for the night. I like to support small local businesses and I’m so glad we came here. We all opted for the 3 course deal which was such good value! Although they state the portions are smaller but they were plenty big enough and we were all so full by the end.
The place itself is really cool too, take time to read the boards on the walls telling the story of Alice May.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Beccib186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.