We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Expedia
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
672
196
75
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
672
196
75
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi juice degustation dinner valet parking course meal welcome drink new zealand hot pools duty manager underfloor heating beautiful room tour group an upgrade native bush two nights franz joseph bathroom floor comfortable rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the most amazing resort stays we have experienced in NZ. a very warm welcome into a beauitul timber lodge with a fire going and someone playing the piano. everyone very friendly and helpful. loved that all the bedrooms have their own decks and you feel like you are in the middle of the forest.

VERY LUCKY

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJNattrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi KJNattrass
Thank you for your review, pleased that you could experience Te Waonui and had a great time
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were so lucky on a recent West Coast holiday to be upgraded from our original booking at the Scenic Hotel next door to the beautiful Te Waonui Forest Retreat. The staff were very friendly and helpful - right from our welcome with a cold drink and hot towel. Our room, with the patio in the bush, was beautiful - well appointed, lovely comfy bed, beautiful linens, fabulous bathroom etc. Because we'd been so spoilt, we opted to dine in the hotel restaurant one of our nights there and had a wonderful meal. It's so sad to see Franz Josef hurting so badly with the pandemic. We were happy to support the town by pushing the boat out and doing a glacier helicopter trip which was a massive highlight of our holiday. We had a 5* plus holiday in this piece of paradise.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lelonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi lel
Thank you for your review, glad that you could experience our hotel and thank you supporting our town activities as it is much appreciated
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Having initially booked at the 4* Franz Josef Scenic hotel next door, my boy and I were upgraded to the 5* Waonui Forest Retreat. And we haven’t been disappointed!
From the reception experience (we were welcomed with a fresh drink and a hot towel) to the wonderful room with a view on a lush bush, we LOVED our stay there! I loved the modern facilities, the natural/eco feel and the superior service. What a shame that so few people come to this part of the country, it has so much to offer.
NB. We went to see the Franz Josef glacier and the Fox Glacier first thing in the morning and this made our stay even more memorable.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 24christelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 24christelm
Thank you for your kind review, the team really enjoy reading great feedback and hope to welcome you back again one day
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

What an amazing place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was incredibly comfortable with a fabulous deck looking out onto the rainforest. Was a great place to relax and unwind. Sad that I only had one night there. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifebeinit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi lifebeinit_13
Thank you for your review, it was great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

We spent a fabulous two nights at Te Waonui. The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful, the beds luxurious and the units immaculately clean. We had dinner there both nights which was amazing, sitting on the deck surrounded by native forest. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JeanetteC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jeanette
Thank you for review, pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed our facilities
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews