We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Trip.com
Booking.com
Snaptravel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
672
196
75
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
672
196
75
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi juice degustation dinner valet parking course meal welcome drink new zealand hot pools duty manager underfloor heating beautiful room tour group an upgrade native bush two nights franz joseph bathroom floor comfortable rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Having initially booked at the 4* Franz Josef Scenic hotel next door, my boy and I were upgraded to the 5* Waonui Forest Retreat. And we haven’t been disappointed!
From the reception experience (we were welcomed with a fresh drink and a hot towel) to the wonderful room with a view on a lush bush, we LOVED our stay there! I loved the modern facilities, the natural/eco feel and the superior service. What a shame that so few people come to this part of the country, it has so much to offer.
NB. We went to see the Franz Josef glacier and the Fox Glacier first thing in the morning and this made our stay even more memorable.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 24christelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Hi 24christelm
Thank you for your kind review, the team really enjoy reading great feedback and hope to welcome you back again one day
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

What an amazing place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was incredibly comfortable with a fabulous deck looking out onto the rainforest. Was a great place to relax and unwind. Sad that I only had one night there. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifebeinit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Hi lifebeinit_13
Thank you for your review, it was great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

We spent a fabulous two nights at Te Waonui. The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful, the beds luxurious and the units immaculately clean. We had dinner there both nights which was amazing, sitting on the deck surrounded by native forest. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JeanetteC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Hi Jeanette
Thank you for review, pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed our facilities
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Welcoming and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms with wonderful rainforest view. Fabulous food. Close to all amenities. A must stay resort for couples wanting that little bit of luxury.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annabel1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Hi Annabel

Thank you for your review, great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

Absolutely Amazing place Staff fantastic couldn’t help us or make our stay any more relaxing than it was the atmosphere was so tranquil. Right next door to amazing hot pools close to the Information center was a wee day but the local fishing trip was a great way to spend or time (even if fishing is not you thing)
Well worth the spend

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 699deniser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Hi Denise
Thank you for your review, please to read that you enjoyed staying with us and the local attractions

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews