We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
655
211
71
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
655
211
71
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house afternoon tea tree house swimming pool the cliff the cottages lovely grounds self catering lovely hotel family room evening meal coastal path following morning a wonderful stay main course north norfolk play area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We celebrated a family anniversary at the The Grove Sundown .
What an amazing setting in beautiful grounds.
A magical feel with fairy lights and gardens surrounding the double point tippi.

The staff were welcoming and attentive and friendly

We ordered a wide range of tapas and pizzas to share between 8 of us.
We recommend enjoying the pre-tapas whilst your main tapas selection is freshly prepared.
Well presented, tasty and a great reflection on traditional local food.

Particularly enjoyed the marsh pig chorizo, cromer crab, samphire

We had a fantastic evening and I would say the Grove Sundown experience is a great asset to Cromer which should be enjoyed if you stay in Cromer.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pastormarktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Graveling, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mark

Many thanks for your kind review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

We're particularly pleased with some of our young front of house staff who have stepped up magnificently in a very tough environment, so I'm delighted they were on form for you!

Very best wishes

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Did a lot of research before booking because we are Grandparents and wanted to bring our son and our Grandchildren fir a weekend seaside break. The Grove seemed to have something for us all. We could not have picked a more perfect place. We arrived later than expected due to horrendous traffic it being the start of the school holidays and had to ring to inform the Grove as we had massages booked for us Grandparents and we were going to be late. The massage therapist stayed late for us and we enjoyed a fabulous massage on arrival and Jodie on reception was helpful and friendly. We were happy with our rooms the Grandparents had a room in the beautiful quiet gardens and our son and children in the main house in a family room. We eat in both restaurants during out stay and the Sundowner was the favourite we loved it and service and food was good. Breakfast was great and the walk through the woods to the beach was perfect as we did not have to use the car for the whole of our stay. We all used the swimming pool the children in the early evening and the oldies in the mornings before breakfast. The weather was extremely kind for us and we had wall to wall sunshine which meant after dinner we could relax with a drink in the beautiful grounds and the children played on the swings and the treehouse. Our Grandchildren made friends with some children staying which made their stay even better. This was a very much needed break after the many months of restrictions and we all came away with many happy memories of a really enjoyable weekend.

Room tip: The Orchard rooms are lovely and quiet
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmadNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Graveling, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Thank you for reviewing us.
It is so great when children make friends on holiday, isn't it?
We are so lucky here to have enough space to have something that does suit families and those wishing to get away from the crowd, alike.
I'm very please you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your comments to Jodie and all the team here.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Having lost a booking, we called to see if we could dine in the A La Carte restaurant within the hour. We were able to make the booking with no issues, and right from the start the staff were so receptive and friendly. We both had a drink in the bar and then had a main course and pudding each, with a bottle of wine to help it all down. No help needed as the food was really tasty and well presented, the wine was also very palatable. The cost of the evening was less than I expected for this quality of food and service, so it proved to be a very enjoyable dining experience. Thank you the |Grove Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M6362ZWterryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Graveling, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Thank you for feeding back to us.
I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal, and the wine.
Many thanks for your comments,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

We went to the new sundown restaurant at the Grove in July - we really wanted it to be great, it looks lovely when you arrive.
The service was pretty poor and the pizzas were awful - I’m not sure how they managed it, but they were really thick and heavy. We didn’t try the tapas menu, but I wouldn’t recommend the pizzas.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emmaDSOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Graveling, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Good morning,
I'm sorry to hear you did not like our pizzas, we usually get such great feedback on them, but thank you for bringing it to our attention.
For future reference, if you mention this on the night, we are always happy to replace them with something better, so you don't go away disappointed.
Many thanks,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

Weekend stay in The Barn - self catering cottage in the hotel grounds. Lovely property sleeping six which was comfortable and well furnished with an outdoor seating area.
The hotel itself is lovely (though only saw the communal areas) as was afternoon tea in the restaurant. There is a small indoor pool which was booked in time slots - probably due to Covid - which was very clean. A short walk through the woods brings you out to the beach.
What impressed me most was the excellent customer service we received -probably the best I have ever had in the UK. From managing complex allergies for afternoon tea, to going out of their way to arranging transport when we could not find a taxi and finding a crab at short notice for my friend who was desperate to try one - and all with a smile. Well done - would totally recommend!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Floandthegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Graveling, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Hello,
Thank you for reviewing us.
We are so lucky at the moment to have such a great group of people working for us who really do deliver on customer service, so thank you for highlighting that.
I'm pleased to hear you had such a great time.
Many thanks,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews