We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Food Poisoning”
Review of La Fontana

La Fontana
Reserve with
La Fontana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 378 Restaurants in Javea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our experience began in 1963, when we were only at El Arenal beach in Javea. Now, our spacious lounge offers different environments where you can enjoy our dishes at family meals, dinners, business or at celebrations and events. We offers a traditional mediterranean cuisine and our specialty in paellas and fideuàs is recognized by thousands of customers who show us their loyalty year after year.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

My business guest and I both suffered from acute stomach disorders during the night following our light dinner here. Too much of a coincidence, I think! We both shared clams and tuna carpaccio. The clams were dissguised by a heavy tomato sauce with about ten cloves of garlic in it. The carpaccio was quite unlike anything I have ever seen before - instead of wafer thin slices of fish, there seemed to be a sort of fish paste smeared across the plate - disgusting. Service, wine and ambience were lovely - what a shame about the food. Subsequently I was amazed to see that this establishment is under joint ownership with the nearby Posidonia, where I had a superb dinner. [See separate review]. I'd recommend you give Fontana a miss!

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ideamixta M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

We regret that you will feel unwell, in the Fontana we have had no record of any other diners who have laid bad our dishes, especially in these days where the restaurant has always been full and there have been many who have visited us. Our products are always of the highest quality and fresh, we managed to take care of the whole process of conservation and development, our more than 55 years of experience behind us and in all this time, we have never had a case of intoxication, that same good work is that we have moved also to Posidonia and that you have had the pleasure of trying. These reviews can damage a lot the reputation of the restaurant we have been building during this half century, we would have loved that before publishing an accusation so severe, it would have been in contact with us to clarify what happened. Stay at your disposal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

If you haven't eaten here then you are missing out. This is one of the best restaurants in javea. A good variety of food, with a lovely menu del did. Flexibility is not a problem and they will change ingredients if you ask them too. See you soon Fontana

Thank KariannEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ideamixta M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hi KariannEllis, we are so happy you have chosen us and after shared your excellent review with us. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

The place is quite big and it looks as if it were always crowded, therefore it’s quite loud, but not too uncomfortably.

On the other hand, the food is great. We had an octopus and fried fish for a starter as well as a “Paella A Banda”, which is paella with whatever fish has been fished that day. Before all this we had a drink with “bread ali oli”, one of the two sauces was delicious, made with what they call “hinojo marino”, (some kind of fennel). The dishes were abundant, we probably ordered too much!

Good also the service. The waiters are quite smart and there to sell their products, but they are open about it and quite entertaining.

Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ideamixta M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello Francesca C, thanks for sharing your good experience at La Fontana. You will be welcome when you want to come back. We hope you continue well. Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

On our second last night in Javea with my family we tried La Fontana. We enjoyed the great food and the very nice service from the waiter Jordy. Thank you!
/Moa from Sweden

Thank MoaMq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ideamixta M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello MoaMq thanks for sharing your good experience at La Fontana. You will be welcome when you want to come back. We hope you continue well. Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Always a warm welcome at La Fontana. Menu del dia is such good value and delicious. Baby beans and baby squid to start. Very tasty. Very tender lamb and scrummy cream Catalans.

Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ideamixta M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018


Hello Julie thanks for sharing your good experience at La Fontana. You will be welcome when you want to come back. We hope you continue well. Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fontana also viewed

 
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing