We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
279
338
136
63
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
338
136
63
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel steep walk half board local village tea and coffee pool bar buffet style superior room cooked breakfast relaxing break up hill sun loungers restaurants and bars pool side rooms are large pool areas are stunning location
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

A truly fantastic hotel and wedding venue! We chose this hotel as our wedding venue as we had stayed a few times before and just loved the hotel and location. The hotel is stunning, so picturesque, rooms huge, everywhere spotless, facilities great, pools amazing, good food.
All of our wedding guests commented on how great the customer service was for the whole of their stay. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff.
Our wedding day went perfectly. The flowers were ordered on a hotel recommendation and were beautiful. The venue room is just stunning and was set up so lovely. The staff worked non stop but none of the guests were aware of all of the hard work it was all just done so seamlessly with no disruption to anything. The service from start to finish was amazing.
All of the staff were amazing but I have to mention two individuals. Miguel was our star maitre de/barman. He was fantastic, kept everybody happy, seemed to do the work of 3 people, always so friendly and helpful. Just brilliant!
The other star is Dunia, the hotel marketing manager. From day one of our wedding planning she has been amazing. She was available whenever we needed her, answered all of my thousands of emails so quickly, had so much patience with all of our requests and changes. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She was just so helpful and so friendly, she kept me totally stress free! She was there for the whole day of the wedding doing everything from helping us with decorating the room, directing guests, moving tables, to just organising every details to perfection! We could not have done it all without her.
The little details were so good. The menus and table plan she produced were perfect. The cake was fantastic.
Overall we could not recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely be going back again many times.
A big thank you to the Gran Hotel Benahavis xxx

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jodie640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I booked this hotel specifically for the spa and spa treatments, as this was the first two free days I have had all year. I get to the spa to be told by the front desk that there were no staff available for treatments because he was on his own. I understand that this is low season and I understand that bookings should be made in advance but the hotel adopted a "couldn't care less" attitude, which I object to as a paying client. If I had known there was no personnel or reduced personnel during this time of year, I would have booked another spa hotel or at another time. The hotel should mention on their website about "out of season" reduction of personnel. The worst thing is, because I made the booking through Booking.com and it's non refundable, I am literally forced to stay in the hotel.

On the plus side, the staff are very helpful, friendly and kind in reception and in the spa reception.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Venerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Charming hotel in a stunning location right in the heart of Benahavis.
Benahavis is a real delight and foodie spot if thats your pleasure. The Hotel is a wonderful reflection of Andalucia ,with plenty of space to relax and very helpful staff. The Hotel rooms are very spacious and well maintained,plenty of storage ,fridge,safe and ours had a wonderful balcony. Breakfast and Dinner was well presented along with nice selection of wines.
A great place to relax and use as we did to tour round the region. we will be going back!

Room Tip: Pool facing balcony rooms are with views also over Benahavis
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Staff really friendly and work hard.food was amazing. The place loooked beautiful. Really posh place. Amazing day. Vicar was funny. The whole day was perfect in this venue. Everyone enjoyed the location, their stay and the food that was presented. Above and beyond service.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angiemays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We had a huge, spotless room on the ground floor with a large balcony. There was a fridge which was large enough to hold litre bottles of water. The air conditioning was great- at times we had to turn it off! The safe was free to use and the pool towels were also free - refundable €20 deposit for the two towels for the time we were there. The breakfast was the usual buffet type and was ok but nothing to write home about.. Quite a few golfers use the hotel as a base and many of them made up some sandwiches at breakfast to take with them without any fuss from the staff. There is a kettle in the room. There were always lots of sun beds and there wasn't any rush in the morning to get one. There weren't many families with young children which was probably due to it being term time. There was a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff were always willing to help. We ate out in the village every evening and the selection and quality of food more than made up for the steep climb up to them. Think it is best to book your table at the weekends, the hotel gives all the restaurant telephone numbers on their welcome map. The pools were lovely and quiet until the Friday we were leaving when a crowd arrived for a wedding on the Saturday, because there was a group they sort of took over the space around the pool as a large group with lots to talk about. Obviously excited about the wedding which was taking place - can't blame them for that but it did change the quiet atmosphere. Lots of places to walk in the morning and evenings. Would be quite happy to go again during the week so that there were no weddings. I didn't give it 5 stars because one of my toffee crisp bars went missing from the fridge on the second day!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank not_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews