We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find! Authentic German cuisine ”
Review of Cafe Rustika

Cafe Rustika
Ranked #139 of 1,604 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: European, German, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Richmonds Only Schnitzel Bar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great find! The schnitzel was fab and the sauerbraten was very tasty and plentiful. This is a small family owned restaurant, and we want to support small businesses. We will return! The music was good, too! (Recorded rock and roll from the 60s, 70s and 80s.) German beers, too!

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank loist51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

Excellent fresh food with delicious flavors. I was visiting friends in Richmond and this is one of their favorite restaurants in the entire city.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank SharonB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

From the outside, this place isn't much to see, and it's a few blocks off the beaten path in downtown Richmond, but if you can get in, do it. Now. My wife and I have long enjoyed German cuisine, but there are so few places offering this. i enjoyed an authentic German beer and the tenderloin with spatzle and my wife had the saurbraten. We enjoyed red cabbage and sauerkraut as sides. All were sumptious, plentiful and unique. We didn't have reservations (you should make them) and sat at the bar where we enjoy talking with other patrons and the bar tender. We also had the cheese cake and learned that EVERYTHING including deserts are made on site. We'll be going back soon.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Y4012TVroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

I had made a reservation to make sure the six of us had seats. (Recommended). Only four made it, but they had the table ready and that was just lovely. Do NOT be in a hurry. This place is a good place to sit, chit chat, hang out, have a beer or two before your meal shows up. No pre--made packaged stuff here. Cooked in traditional German style. The staff is friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed every minute we were here. We will go back. (Hint: free parking on the street on Saturdays in Richmond.) So that was nice too.
Brotchen was delicious. The schnitzel was cooked wonderfully and the gravy was very flavorful.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryV1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Fantastic German restaurant, probably the best I have been to in the states. The sauerbraten was awesome, as were the sides. German and Belgian beer on tap. Great service. This is a hidden gem.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank josephp844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rustika also viewed

 
Richmond, VA
 

Been to Cafe Rustika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Hong Kong SAR
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.