We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In a stunning combination of scholarship and showmanship, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum immerses you in Lincoln's world and time. Journey from a rustic Indiana cabin to the Executive Mansion in the nation's capitol; follow the fate of America's 16th president and share the joys and sorrows of a family - and a nation. (Please be advised, while the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum is open 7 days a week, the Presidential Library is only open on weekdays, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.)
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The museum is phenomenal! It is well laid out. The videos are informative. Only downside is there were alot of school groups on the day we went and they were not well disciplined.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Kelli0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"civil war"
in 495 reviews
"white house"
in 296 reviews
"special effects"
in 106 reviews
"theater presentations"
in 59 reviews
"log cabin"
in 179 reviews
"all ages"
in 259 reviews
"subway restaurant"
in 42 reviews
"wax figures"
in 95 reviews
"presidential library"
in 137 reviews
"his life"
in 211 reviews
"abraham lincoln"
in 271 reviews
"emancipation proclamation"
in 46 reviews
"three hours"
in 58 reviews
"across the street"
in 133 reviews
"gift shop"
in 141 reviews
"whole family"
in 54 reviews
"two hours"
in 62 reviews
Filter

254 - 258 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We spent several hours here after first visiting Lincoln's Springfield home. We really appreciated the exhibits, including the multimedia presentations. We came away with a good sense of both his political and family life, and of the tragedies, hard won victories, persistence, faith and character that made our 16th President such a great man. The museum is based on an appreciation for what they lived through and accomplished, as much as that is possible after so much time has passed. It was definitely worth going out of our way to visit.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Six family members ages 11-75 years enjoyed. Two hours seemed enough for museum. Appreciate the senior & student reduced fee. Liked the layout. Liked the combo of walk through displays and movie type shows. There was also middle school field trip happening.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank 406shelleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum (ALPLM) is fabulous. We visit many times throughout the year. There are many special events at both the museum and library which are always interesting. We take our out of town guest there when showing them around Springfield. A+

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Margie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This is not just his library but has the history of LIncoln from a youn age to his assassination. The museum also has the 4 presidents that are related to Illinois

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank plymouthwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing