We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seattle Center Monorail
Open today: 7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Seattle Center Monorail
from US$65.98
More Info
Seattle CityPASS
377 Reviews
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$148.00
More Info
from US$27.30
More Info
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
485
491
190
42
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
491
190
42
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews space needle fun ride mode of transport the world's westlake station few blocks pike place market public transportation other attractions light rail stops emp cars nordstrom platform uber ave
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

For $5.00 round trip you get a quick trip from Westlake Square to theSpace Needle and Chuhily Gardens and Glass area. We were there on a week day so it was not crowded and the only wait was for the next cars to arrive. It was fun little ride above the city...a tight corner or two and you have arrived. I would recommend it

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank SDCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We love the monorail! It is the perfect way to go from Westlake / downtown to the needle. We loved riding up high in the city for such a reasonable price. We liked it so much we went back the next day just to go to the amazing playground outside the station at the needle.

You never have to wait more than 10 minutes and it’s only a few dollars. What’s not to love about that?

Insider tip: they have very cool “retro” t shirts for $12 on the platform in vending machines. They are a nice lightweight cotton poly blend. I took a chance and bought one and am glad I did!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank bradd200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

450 passengers can travel in two minutes nearly a mile from the southeast end of Westlake Center to Seattle’s Center Station, just northwest of the Space Needle. There is a train every ten minutes. The cost is 2.50 one way and only cash.

As Disney Pass holders, we found this Monorail delightful to its brother in Magic Kingdom’s Disney World. In fact, the monorails were built by the same company. The Seattle Monorail, though, was built first in 1962 for Seattle’s World’s Fair.

In the summer and special events, there is a doable wait. The Seattle Center Station does provide access to such places as the Space Needle, Chihuly Garden’s, Museum of Pop Culture, the Science Center and the Science Fiction Hall of Fame.

If you really don’t want to wait, highly recommend going early. We also found Chilhuly’s to be absolutely amazing with all the glass figurines. Combo tickets can be purchased at kiosks around the Needle.

If you found this review “helpful” in any way, please press “LIKE” to let me know.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This is the same Alweg monorail as at Disneyland in Anaheim. It doesn't go as far, but it's real and not just for amusement. It was built for the world's fair in 1962 to demonstrate future transportation. It should have been built out for the region then -- would have been a lot cheaper than the light rail of today. It still works great, smooth and quiet. It goes from the Seattle Center to the Westlake Mall through some interesting downtown Seattle. If you're playing tourist in Seattle, go to the MoPOP (museum of popular culture) and take a round trip on the monorail.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Rocks_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The picture makes you think that it is a ride (as in amusement park ride) perhaps with a view....not. It is just a transportation. It connects the mid-town (Westlake - if you get a round trip pass from the airport, it is the supposed end point) to the Center where space needle and Chihuly Garden. As long as you think this as a transportation, it is good, but have right expectations. That's all.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank chieandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews