We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal with a great view”

Charlotte Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 05/08
20:00
Ranked #438 of 4,142 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: US$5 - US$48
Description: Charlotte Restaurant & Lounge is located on the 16th floor of Lotte Hotel Seattle and offers a panoramic view of Elliott Bay and downtown Seattle. A culinary experience featuring contemporary Pacific Northwest cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Charlotte Restaurant & Lounge is located on the 16th floor of Lotte Hotel Seattle and offers a panoramic view of Elliott Bay and downtown Seattle. A culinary experience featuring contemporary Pacific Northwest cuisine.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

I grew up in a city where Lotte can be seen everywhere, so knowing Lotte hotel opening in Seattle was very thrilling.

We were warmly welcomed by hotel staff, and were led to a private room for a function. I was astonished by the beautiful view of Seattle first where the lounge was situated, then the luxurious furniture settings.

Meals and beverages came out in a timely manner. And I am happy to say we were served in a very polite manner. I had A5 Wagyu for my main, not to mention the style of the steak, the sauce itself was beyond the expectation. It actually captured all my senses, wanting to taste and know what it is made of. It was buttery but blends so well with the A5 Wagyu. I think I would come back for this.

Dessert was delightfully presented that anyone would fall for -very instagrammable I would say :)

What made our time more valuable was not just because of the flavor of the course meal, I guess the atmosphere, the magnificence the restaurant and the hotel holds, and the way staff welcomes and serves guests. That effort made it fantastic! I think I can proudly say the hospitality Lotte hotel Seattle shows is pretty outstanding.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Miss_Annabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2021

The food was absolutely delicious and I truly enjoyed every bite. The salmon was perfectly cooked, definitely would reorder. The highlight was the soufflé which came perfect. Service was attentive and friendly. The restaurant is spacious and thus there is a lot of distance between diners, i.e., a good place during these weird pandemic times. Definitely worth a repeat.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GourmandTrashPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021

absolutely wonderful hospitality in a beautiful space overlooking downtown and the waterfront! They’re specialty cocktails are creative and impeccably presented... also delicious!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank adoraem148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

Charlotte is a rare example of a stellar culinary dining experience. It starts the minute you approach the building that houses the 17th floor Lotte Hotel and Charlotte restaurant and lounge. The level of awareness stuns, as the building doors are opened by two welcoming doormen, next a greeter welcomes you with enthusiasm and a welcoming bow, finds your reservation, walks you to the elevator, pushes the floor button exits and up you go. As you rise, so does the experience. You are recognized by name and again a welcoming bow and walking escort. The host promises the “best table in the house” and he delivers, followed by a Lotte of Love cocktail and a classic Negroni coupled with the whitefish spread bar snack. All were prepared and presented with passion and precision.

It was the start of a perfect culinary adventure, made even more memorable by our warm, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and exacting server, Daniel, who perceived and delivered the kind of hospitality that is nonexistent in the 21st century until now. The inventive cocktails with flower floats and hand etched ice cube accompanied by the unforgettable bar snack beckoned what what was yet to come. We were wowed by the creative vision, flavors and artistic expression of each course, a shared hand cut lamb tartare, so delicate and perfect was the hint of alder wood smoke, the crunch of rye crumb, alongside the slightly, salt cured yolk, edible leaves, droplets of sauce. A shared first course that will be a lasting yearning.

On to the entrees. The perfectly crisp skinned Steelhead filet with micro-turnips, trumpet mushrooms and black garlic gnocchi in a wonderful puddle of flavorful jus. How is it possible to elevate the chicken? Charlotte brought a locally farmed fowl to new heights, based on the texture, our guess, the breast meat sous vide tender, flavorful and juicy with the opposing texture and flavor profile, a crisped wing stuffed with foie bras plated like an abstract art palette. The ying and yang of subtle meets bold.

Each course was accompanied by the guest’s choice of a uniquely curated global and PNW selection of wines by the glass poured first as a taste, table side. We finished with the creative deconstruction of a classic apple tart, here the apple is the star in compressed form decorated by small constellations of crisp and cream. A light, delicious, fruit-forward odyssey and satisfying finish to an experience that lingers. Charlotte is a destination you will not want to miss and is guaranteed to ensure your return. Thank you to all the hospitality and culinary stars that made for such an unforgettable evening.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlodeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2021

The best meal I’ve had in Seattle since moving here in 2017, and the best meal anywhere since visiting Lyon & Dijon that same year. Great setting. Great service. Sublime cooking. I’ve grown weary of professional restaurant reviewers touting yet another sticky tabled noodle house as some sort of grand culinary experience. Charlotte goes back to the days of creativity and execution I remember from my years living in San Francisco in the late 80’s and early 90’s – days of Jeremiah Tower & Alice Waters fast-forwarded 30 years.

Setting – you’re on the 15th floor of F5 Tower, with essentially half (or more) of the floor dedicated to the lounge & restaurant. The lounge has all these wonderful, well-spaced seating areas with an east and north view, essentially of other downtown buildings. The bar splits the lounge from the restaurant, which faces west towards the Sound. Tables are well spaced (suspect they’d be so even w/o Covid) and most have a great view out towards the water.

Service – highly polished. Attentive w/o being intrusive. Highly professional and very friendly. Able to describe ingredients and preparations when asked. Top notch.

Lounge – wonderful selection of cocktails (and hard liquors, should you have a favorite bourbon or gin). Asian inspired. The guy who mixed up my two cocktails was, in my mind, not a bartender but a mixologist. For those who know Anvil (Houston) or Williams & Graham (Denver), that’s what we’re talking – creative combinations; unique mix of sweet/sour/bitter; excellent preparation. True artists at work here. Oh, and did I mention the smoked whitefish nibbles with homemade potato chips – this was truly out of this world, and got me excited about the rest of the meal.

Dinner – Wagyu beef tartare was wonderfully done. The dollops of kale aioli conjured what it might have been like to have been the steer who gave his life for the dish munching on grass in a wide-open field. A very generous portion, with homemade kale chips serving as the ‘toast chips’ for the tartare. My Chilean sea bass might have been even better – it came plated with a lovely set of accompaniments, including fern cuttings, fava beans and radish. All the flavors go so well together, while being special in their own right. Like the cocktail list, the food is Asian influenced (though with a light and subtle hand). In Europe, the tartare and sea bass entrée would easily be worthy of one Michelin star (if not 2)! Great selection of wines by the bottle or glass, as well as beers, ciders and non-alcoholic options. Finished with a Banana Souffle with Espresso Gelato & Chocolate Sauce – Yum!

I came away very impressed. I also liked the somewhat casual/relaxed vibe – though the food & service is world class, you don’t get a stuffy ‘tuxedoed waiters and white tablecloth’ vibe from the restaurant.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GigOn332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlotte Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Charlotte Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.