We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia
US$2,075
View deal
Booking.comUS$2,075
Hotels.comUS$2,075
Agoda.comUS$2,075
TripadvisorUS$2,075
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,591)
Filter reviews
3,591 results
Traveller rating
3,037
315
131
68
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,037
315
131
68
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower king's pond palm grove eagle ray cultural center swim up bar ulu restaurant golf course adult pool the big island beach house quiet pool ice water family pool pool service every staff member sea turtles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,591 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2021

The hotel, the experience and overall stay was top notch. The service and staff could were completely attentive, responsive and beyond pleasant. The only downside is that while the hotel is technically on the water, only - maybe - 75 yards are essentially usable because the rest is lava and/or rocky (which urchins appear to like). The property has several pool options, all beautiful, so its not like we suffered but I'd have preferred more, and more conveniently accessible, beach options.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
1  Thank tjmeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Williamson, Other at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us here at Hualalai. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,
Graham Williamson
Resort Manager
Graham.Williamson@Fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2021

We had been wanting to come back here ever since we left last time. There is something magical about this place. We stayed for a week in a suite at the Palm Grove (adult) pool.

First off the rooms are incredible. After a complete renovation they are stunning. Each room has a large patio to relax during the day. Nearly every room has an ocean view.

The golf course was also updated to be more friendly to the average golfer. We did not play this visit but the course always looks amazing!

The pools on property are awesome. The Palm Grove pool is adults only and has a swim up bar. Great views of the ocean from the infinity end. The main pool is perhaps the most stunning setting on the island. Wonderful pool with free cabanas and lots of loungers. Please do arrive early as chairs get booked up. Then there is a kids pool. Finally the newest, and perhaps most incredible pool, at Kings Pond. This was just finished this year and is a wonderful infinity pool overlooking both the pond ( a massive ocean water aquarium that you can swim or snorkel in) and the ocean. Service at all the pools were very good. You can also swim in a protected area with beach. Always turtles swimming around which is great.

Plenty of options to lounge at the extensive beach as well. All with food and drink service. Lots of options to do nothing all day!

We ate lunch at the various pools. Each pool has a specific menu but you can order from other pools if you'd like. The fish sandwich at the Kings Pond pool takes the cake. The fish tacos at the main pool were great. The hamburger just ok. Lobster roll was excellent.

We had room service a few times as well. Easy to order from the iPad in the room and eating on the balcony was wonderful.

The Grille at the golf course was a wonderful steak focused meal. Nice wine list as well. Perhaps our favorite meal was at the Residents Beach house. Wonderful setting on the beach, great service, and tasty options.

We also did massages at the spa and they were incredible. We get regular massages back home but these were significantly better. The spa overall is wonderful.

One nice perk they don't advertise is the free washer and dryers located in each building. Pods and dryer sheets too.

The stay was not without its issues. The food was excellent at nearly all of the restaurants and pools. Ulu however remains a mystery. We had an excellent breakfast there but then 2 dinners where most people did not like their entrees. This is the signature restaurant of the property and the prices are very high. Perhaps they are going through a transition. Housekeeping was also a bit of a letdown, but after speaking with them they were back on track.

Overall a wonderful stay and we can not wait to return again.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Ley, Marketing at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us here at Hualalai. We're so glad that you were able to enjoy the wide range of renovations that our team has been hard at work with. We look forward to extending our ho'okipa to you again soon.

Mahalo,
Graham Williamson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

I’ve thought about giving our stay anywhere between 2 and 4 stars. I kind of settled for a 3 or 3 1/2 stars and I’ll explain why below.

I started coming here about 10 years ago. I came here because it was expensive by ten years ago standards but now it would be a bargain (golf ocean rooms in the 550-625 a night range instead of starting at around 1400-1600). Back then, there was a four seasons hualalai airport club. Evian spritz at the pool abounded. I’d leave sunglasses out in my nightstand and a sunglass cleaning cloth would be left under jt. There were manager receptions where management would make it a top priority to literally meet every single hotel guest. They’d even come by and move lounge chairs for you. Within a few days, every employee knew your name and room by heart. And, of course, pretty much 50% of the lounge chairs remained empty throughout the day.

Fast forward 10 years. Prices tripled. The rooms are remodeled (very lovely) but they were due for a renovation 7 years ago. You need to stake out lounges no later than 8am. Props go to how we were told we couldn’t use the lounge chairs at the beach because they were reserved for someone who was paying more money than us. I deducted one star for this. Service is very spotty. Sometimes a server comes to the pool and other times no one comes by for hours. No Evian. No sunglass cloths. No one offering to change your sand filled towels for you without you asking. Prices are supposed to go up to maintain a level of service. The prices have gone up but the service is not there.

Even more egregious is the fact that they are doing construction. The class act way of handling this would have been to close the pool areas down and not book those rooms out. But alas the day has come where the four seasons wants to be exclusive by charging exorbitantly high rates instead of offering the services that made it a four seasons.
Pretty much everything that made this a luxury destination resort has been replaced with high prices and no services.

Oh and the quiet pool is not quiet. People yell drunk I. It abs blast loud radios with horrible music.

Perhaps when rosewood opens up they will get thier acts together. But I highly suggest that everyone looking here take a look at the banyan tree, one and Only’s, auberges, and rosewoods in Mexico. It’s about 1/2 the price and the service is so beyond superior.

Would I come back? There is something special about Hawaii. I would come back if the price is fair. A starting rate of 1400 for a golf ocean view room is not fair as it’s unable to deliver the four seasons product.
Read less

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
8  Thank Lovz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Ley, Marketing at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Aloha,

I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us, I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are looking into the issues you raised and appreciate you taking the time to show us room for improvement.

If you would like to provide any additional comments please feel free to contact me directly at any time.

With Aloha,

Mark Ley
Director of Marketing
Mark.Ley@Fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

We have visited Hualalai many times pre-pandemic and now twice during the pandemic and believe the resort has done an amazing job maintaining the essence of what makes this one of the most sought after vacation spots in the world. The grounds are perfect. Not a grass or flower out of place. The room renovations are warm and inviting, quietly sophisticated yet not too delicate for families with boisterous children. The aloha spirit is alive and well from the security guards at the gate welcoming us back from a walk with ice cold water bottles, to valet attendants who remembered the names of family members and always greeted us with a smile. The resort was packed when we visited and stayed in a rental home in April and was still full when we visited the hotel in August, yet the staff is still good natured and did everything possible to make our experience feel cozy and intimate. Housekeeping was perfect and thorough twice a day. Camp Manitou was a godsend and accomodated our son on short notice - with staff that recognized and welcomed him from prior years’ visits. The remaining construction was contained and quiet. Were there challenges? Yes. Did I mention we are in a pandemic? The front desk staff was professional but reserved and not as joyful as the bellmen and waitresses. The restaurants, with the exception of Resident’s Beach House, would benefit from menu refreshes and much deeper wine and cocktail lists. Management ought to consider hosting a daily cocktail hour with invites for newly arrived guests or reaching out in a more personalized way a day or so into guests’ stay in light of covid. But these are nits. This place is special and worth every penny you pay.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TSPrufrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Ley, Marketing at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Aloha,

Wow, what a touching review! Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience, we will be sure to share this feedback with the fantastic team. We are grateful you chose to stay with us for your vacation, and we hope to see you again soon in paradise!

Mark Ley
Director of Marketing
Mark.Ley@Fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

This hotel has a massive reputation. Here is what I’ve observed so far. The food is not better than an airport food court. Seriously. It costs 5 to 10 times as much, but will be the same in quality as your garden variety LAX meal. The hotel is completely understaffed. It takes an hour to get a drink by the pool and some of the staff you ask will openly say that you need to wait because if they put an order in it won’t matter. It’s a nice property for sure, but you will want to eat and drink while you are here, and the quality level based on what we’ve seen will make you want to cry when you realize what you’ve paid. It’s a gorgeous property and the natural surroundings are world class, but it feels like it’s running at half speed

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Mrstarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Ley, Marketing at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Aloha!

Thank you for providing such valuable feedback and I apologize that your stay with us has been less than ideal.

We would love the opportunity to turn your vacation around if you would like to reach out to me directly at any time.

Mahalo piha!
(whole-hearted gratitude)

Mark Ley
Director of Marketing
Mark.Ley@Fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews