We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Trip.com
Snaptravel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,559)
Filter reviews
3,559 results
Traveller rating
3,014
312
129
64
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,014
312
129
64
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower king's pond palm grove eagle ray beach tree pool swim up bar ulu restaurant golf course adult pool the big island beach house quiet pool steam room family pool pool service every staff member sea turtles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,559 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We first visited Four Seasons Hualalai in 2018, and enjoyed it so much we picked it as our first post-vaccination trip destination. I was not disappointed, the property is as lovely as ever and the service is still outstanding. It’s not always perfect, but whenever there was a lapse, the response more than made up for it.

Particular kudos to the executive chef, Richard, and the rest of the kitchen management and staff, for going above & beyond to accommodate my dietary restrictions. He communicated with me prior to arrival, offering his phone number if I ever wanted to contact him for assistance. They even made a delicious cake for me, and were happy to share recipes. It really put my mind at ease and made me feel welcome.

They are making every effort to provide a safe, clean experience for everyone, with masks required in all public areas except when seated at your table or the beach/pool. I did note that enforcement seemed to lessen a bit after the CDC’s most recent announcement, but you are outdoors for almost everything, including meals, and tables and loungers are well-spaced out, so it feels very safe and relaxing. They take your temperature and make a rather perfunctory effort to review screening questions before putting on your daily wristband when you go to breakfast.

The King’s Pond area has been significantly modified; it’s still lovely to look at but a bit less “natural” than before, with a new infinity pool, deck area with loungers, and some additional structures. We really enjoyed that pool, so I think it’s a good improvement. At the other end of the resort, a couple of new oceanfront buildings are under construction near the adult pool and Residents’ Beach Club, which unfortunately meant listening to the sound of construction while at the adult pool. For that reason, I would currently recommend avoiding rooms in that location.

The rooms have been updated since our first stay, and I was especially pleased that one of the few improvements I wished for last time has been implemented – handhelds were added to the rain showers. (My other wish, that they get a true shave ice machine for the surf shack, remains unfulfilled; it’s still just an overpriced snow cone.) The rooms are gorgeous, well-appointed and comfortable. Plenty of drawer and closet space, multiple bedside outlets for charging electronics, reading lights, a refrigerator, and an iPad for browsing menus, ordering food or other services, etc.

I particularly love that the rooms here are scattered in low-rise buildings with individual entrances, it does not feel like a huge, crowded resort. No hallways, no elevators, just a relaxed island vibe. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for the latter part of our stay, at a reduced rate, which we took advantage of. We didn’t use the living room much, but having the larger lanai with two loungers was really delightful.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We're ecstatic to hear that you decided to return to Hualalai since your last visit in 2018 & seemed to have an all around amazing time! Chef Richard is a key member of our team and we are so glad that you were able to accommodate your dietary restrictions with the high level of service that we strive for. We'll be sure to share your feedback with the team, who strive to facilitate special experiences for our guests time and again. We hope to see you again soon in paradise!

Sebastian Hinsch
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my 6th time staying at Hualalai and it was by FAR the best! The room updates are gorgeous, the new pool by the kings pond is amazing, and the menu at Ulu has been updated and is great!

Even though there were COVID precautions happening (most notably with the buffet which was difficult to navigate and hard to hear the servers behind the glass), the precautions were hardly even noticeable. Also, the hotel was either at or very close to capacity when we stayed but with the addition of the new pool it was much easier than in past years to get a chair! Only the adult pool chairs were a little tricky to get, but every other pool had really good turnover.

Shout out to Michael our bellman who was a delight during the tour and bag drop off, Shannon at the swim up bar who invented multiple custom cocktails for me, Arturo at the kings pond who gave us above and beyond service and Floyd at Ulu who made our dinner amazing with his knowledge of wines and sorted us out when our table was way too windy!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been staying at the Four Seasons Hualalai nearly every year since they opened. The service, location, rooms, pools, and spa are outstanding. Breakfast is great. The Beach Tree bar and restaurant are always enjoyable. It really is our “happy place!”

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank DrLaurieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Dr. Laurie,

Wow, what a touching review! Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful you chose to stay with us year after year and we hope to see you again soon in paradise! We're touched and look forward to holding that "happy place" for many more years to come.

Sebastian Hinsch
Resort Manager
sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is an example for all resorts. The accommodations are beautiful, comfortable, and charming. There are several pools, restaurants, beaches, and a snorkeling pond. It also has a golf course, spa, cultural center, exercise gym, and several shops.The ambiance at this resort is calm but fun, romantic but quietly social, family friendly but not intrusive. This resort does not have the frenetic vibe of many other resorts.The restaurants are wonderful, but very expensive. The rooms have refrigerators. We brought granola, fruit, and milk for our breakfasts; cheese crackers, hummus etc. for our lunches; and dined at the various restaurants on the premises for dinner. We also enjoyed cocktails poolside, but had our own liquor/wine in our room as well. There’s plenty of complimentary activities to choose from. Reservations are often required, but no fee for most. EVERY employee was friendly, helpful, and professional. We’re already saving for our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 2again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us here at Hualalai. It seems like you really enjoyed so many aspects of the resort that make Hualalai so special! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sebastian Hinsch
Resort Manager
sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

One of the most amazing hotels in the world - the incredible staff, wonderful restaurants, natural beauty, perfectly manicured grounds, private outdoor shower attached to our room, brilliant sunsets every night from literally every location on the grounds, there was literally not one thing that was not ideal at this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank MABrentwoodWestLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a phenomenal review! We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us here at Hualalai. We look forward to seeing you enjoying the breathtaking sunsets at Hualalai again soon!

Sebastian Hinsch
Resort Manager
sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews