We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
122
77
27
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
77
27
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frau steiner skiing holiday outdoor pool next year house wine tap water easy access to the slopes booked last minute excellent food each evening spa facilities steep hill the main hotel hohe mut ski rental course meal over christmas
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This was our fifth year in a row at this hotel - which should speak volumes about the place. It is an extremely well run, charming and relaxing hotel. Simone, the owner never stops and has always accommodated our varying requests and has gone out of her way on many occasions to accomplish this. The rooms are spacious and immaculate - some of which have recently been refurbished and the spa area and facilities are fabulous. The food is plentiful, tasty and well presented. It is in a good location for skiing. I would highly recommend this hotel. We are looking forward already to our next stay at this hotel hopefully later on this year.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleydave2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed at the Bellevue for a skiing trip in March 2018 with Crystal. I had stayed there several years ago and remembered that it was pretty good, but I will not be returning.

First the good: the pool and spa facilities were great, with an indoor and outdoor pool, jacuzzi and even a clothed sauna next to the pool (unusual for Austria). There is a separate naked section with steam rooms and saunas where children aren't allowed. The afternoon cakes after skiing were always a hit. It's up a hill, but the Lohman shop will deliver and pick up your skis for you. A short walk up the hill and a bit of poling will get you down to the lifts, and you can get back to the same place from a blue run, so it's convenient for skiing. Frau Steiner is very efficient and most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is really good, with plenty of choice and they will make you eggs and bacon to order.

Two main niggles that mean that we won't stay there again.

The barman/waiter, Michael, who was very friendly, will upsell your drinks all the time. The first time we asked for a glass of wine he brought everyone a 1/4 of a litre (instead of the 1/8 on the menu) and he did the same with schnapps, where he always poured (and charged) for doubles. He did this even when we asked for a small schnapps (repeatedly) once were wise to his tricks. We know, we saw the bills the next day.

The other problem for us was that as vegetarians we were not really catered for at dinner more than once. This was despite them asking us every morning at breakfast about the meal that evening, so the kitchen would always have known that we were there. However, the lack of provision for us suggested that either they didn't know or didn't care that we are non-meat eaters. Some nights they had a vegetarian option for the soup and main course, so it was fine, but a few times there was nothing. Our last night there was the low point: first we were told there was no soup for us; the starter was a stuffed egg with some caviar on it, so they just gave us the salad garnish with neither egg nor caviar; then for the main course we got a spoonful of red cabbage and a few carrots, which were, you've guessed it, some of the vegetables that the meat eaters got with their meals. I ski in Austria every year and I've never had such bad food at a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank middleagedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Spent a week here in late February and LOVED it! Our experience was very different from that of some people - whose reviews led us to arrive with some trepidation. Our room was enormous, with a separate sitting area, lovely wet room and walk-in wardrobe. The view over the town and valley was beautiful. The spa area was luxurious and very well designed, with a totally separate area for adults only. Lovely heated outdoor pool. The Steiner family (hotel owners) and all the staff were delightful and always helpful. Our small requests (eg for more hangers) were dealt with promptly and pleasantly. The food was excellent, with a wide variety of dishes. Our only minor criticism was that the farmers buffet wasn’t very well organised, so we had quite a long wait for some of the courses. Wine (as usual in Austria) was exorbitantly expensive and even tap water came at a price. However, none of this stopped us from having a wonderful holiday. Thank you, Hotel Bellevue!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

First off the TripAdvisor is confusing. The Austria and the Bellevue are two different hotels but owned by the same family, the Bellevue occupies a better position in the village.

This review refers to the Bellevue.

Although we have visited Obergurgl times this was our first to the Bellvue. It's position on the hill overlooking the slopes had put us off in the past. It is not ski in ski out and the thought of trudging up the hill in ski boots carrying skis had put us off. However, we discovered that if you hire your skis at the Scheiber Sport shop right next to the Hohe Mut Bahn gondola you can store your kit there overnight making the walk back to the hotel much less off putting.

The Bellevue is a lovely typically Austrian hotel, not as large as some in the village but all the better for it. It's is characterful, comfortable and clean. It has a lovely pool and spa (which guests at the sister hotel the 'Austria' also have access to - this wasn't an issue). The food is superb; great breakfast selection with eggs cooked to order. Dinner is 4 sometimes 5 courses if there's a cheese board. The daily menu offers an eclectic mix based on the best of Austrian and Italian food with the occasional oriental influence too - there is talent in the kitchen. Wine is expensive but it is in most good hotels wherever you are, although I still think charging for tap water is cheeky. The staff are delightful.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Had a great 7 nights in Hotel Austria, food and service was excellent, especially Anna and our waiter Robert.
Breakfast and Evening meals were lovely.
Joseph enjoyed the Crèche even though he was grumpy.
Big thank you for looking after us. The Adamson Family

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews