We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
294
122
43
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
122
43
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boot room umbrella bar outdoor pool perfect location next year north facing room a la carte restaurant ski shop large hotel fondue ski school public areas ski hire spa area skiing holiday main course our waiter
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We had stayed at the E&G years ago and found the reception staff as friendly and welcoming as we remembered. Our room was a spiegelkogel with excellent mountain view. Our only criticism would be the size of the balcony - very small with just 2 chairs and no room for a lounger.
Our previous stay at the E&G was around 10 years ago - again, a summer holiday - when the hotel was busy (the dining room full). We were therefore surprised to be shown to the small section of dining room open this year. It seemed almost unnervingly quiet! However, our waiter, Arnold, was highly attentive and always ready with friendly conversation. On his nights off, we noticed a real difference as we were served by another waiter who, while trying his best, appeared to be in some kind of argument with one of the waitresses whenever they met at their workstation. This waitress was clearly unhappy in her work - not even making eye contact with diners. The food was excellent, with plenty of choice. Arnold even offered alternatives when the appetiser was not to our liking! The only disappointments were at breakfast where there was no fresh orange juice (as mentioned in other reviews), and no eggs cooked to order - something which most other Austrian hotels seem to offer even during the summer.
The outside bar is a nice place to sit with a beer, and on cooler evenings there is plenty of seating around the indoor bar - especially when the hotel seems this empty! One evening we attended a concert at the small hall across the street and, on returning to the hotel at 10pm were amazed to find the bars closed and no sign of anybody! Disappointing to have no drink at the end of a lovely evening.
The spa area is quite extensive - a good place to relax after a long walk. However, unlike other hotels, there is no tea or fruit - just water from the tap. Both the spa and pool areas were almost deserted even at 6pm. The water in both pools was too hot to be refreshing, and the area around the outside pool seems neglected - weeds growing up through paving slabs.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the hotel has a superb location directly by the gondola.

Room Tip: We closed the curtains all day to ensure mountain view room was cool late afternoon.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Leader2000, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Dorset Eeyore,

Thank you for your positive rating and for your feedback. The week you stayed with us was indeed very quiet. We are very sorry that the bar was closed when they returned to the hotel that evening. That should not happen. Thank you also for your positive response to Arnold. We do our best to make our employees feel comfortable with us. Overall, we had a very positive summer, and a lot of good feedback. In the summer we try to make Edelweiss & Gurgl a place to relax and unwind. We've also planned some improvements that we will implement as soon as possible. For Winter we will start with a new Fruit Juice provider and make sure that the quality is perfect again. We would be very happy to welcome you back to us. Kind regard, Family Scheiber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We had a very pleasant three day stay in July. Obergurgl becomes a bit of a ghost town in summer but that is no problem at this hotel. All of the staff were very polite and attentive and Arnold is a gem. Breakfast is excellent. We ate in the a la carte restaurant for dinner which was very good. The menu would be a bit limiting for a longer stay. The room was cosy but fine. There is a large choice of room types so you know what you are getting.

Room Tip: Take a while to select your room from the wide choice available.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Leader2000, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Allan C,
thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, family Scheiber & the Edelweiss & Gurgl team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We have been staying here for many years and last year had an issue which was dealt with effectively by the management. This year we told them we were coming back and were assured that we wouldn’t have any issues, in the whole they kept their promise.

However...

The first room we were given was very old style and just had a tiny bath with shower over rather than a proper shower. We asked to change rooms and this was soon sorted.

The hotel is great as its ski in ski out and has. A great ski and boot room, its so family friendly and everyone just gets on and this creates a wonderful atmosphere.
We had a minor issue with a waiter on the terrace bar who was extremely rude until he later found out we were guests and then he became OTT in his approach to our party.

The waiter we had in the dinning room was exceptional and clearly knew his stuff. We did find some staff moaning about the hours they were working, such as 3 weeks solid 11 hours a day, which if to believed is shocking. We did get a sense of some staff being fed up as it was the end of the season and they were talking a lot about going home. Whilst I appreciate this is something for them to look forward to, I’m not sure guests need to be hearing about this all the time. Equally there’s some feedback for management re have they got the correct numbers of staff and should they vary them more across the season?

The spa area is excellent and we never found it or the pools busy.

Overall very good, but they could really sort out the minor details and get back to how they use to be.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EG-Team-Leader, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear ExplorerIIYorkshire,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologize that we could not fully meet your expectations.
We had a discussion with the waiter on the terrace. We find he did a very good job all over the winter season and we receive a lot of positive feedback for his work. He truly apologizes if you had the impression that he was rude. This was not his intention at all. He was not 100% sure if you are staying at the Edelweiss & Gurgl and therefore he tried to find you to sign the guest check as you left the table without any instructions for him. We agree that he should have known that you are a guest of the hotel. On the à la carte Terrace sometimes it can be challenging to find out who is paying for the lunch. We hope for your understanding.

All Team members have their two days of at the Edelweiss & Gurgl. Maybe this is a misunderstanding. We take care of our staff and nobody has to work without the well deserved time off. We are going to build a staff hotel this summer, to make sure that all team members find a nice place to relax. This should also show how much we care for our staff and for our guest.

We would be very happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Family Scheiber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We stayed in early April 2018 as a family of five. As many reviewers have said the convenience of the hotel is its biggest positive and for this it would definitely get 5 stars. The boot room exit is directly next door to the Scheiber ski shop (owned, I think, by the same Scheiber family that own the hotel and is the most expensive ski rental I have ever paid. That said it is open until 9:00pm on Saturday and as we didn't arrive at the hotel until 7pm we were grateful for its convenience). From the boot room there is a short staircase up which comes out by two of the main lifts which take you up to different parts of the mountain. For those who are beginners or with young children who wish to refresh their skiing before ski school (which conveniently starts at 10am with the assembly point just next to the lifts) the run down from the first stage of the bubble is about as easy a blue as you are going to find anywhere. There is good storage in the bootroom for skis, boots & helmets, though on the downside the door does not need a key pass to open which I did feel was a security issue. Also in similar priced hotels I have been used to lockable cupboards for skis with boot warmers. Clearly this is a "first world problem" but for a 4*S hotel one would expect it.

The hotel itself is very nice, though do bear in mind that it is a large hotel which consequently means a large dining room and a very busy swimming pool in the late afternoon. We had two interconnecting rooms which had recently been modernised and were very comfortable. The bathrooms were lovely (if cosy) and had good showers with unending hot water. The food in the dining room is good, though I found the idea that we had to choose our main course for dinner at breakfast a bit odd. On the flip side our main waiter, Arnold, was utterly charming, as was Francesco in the bar along with all the other staff that we encountered - full marks to the hotel and its staff for personal service. The bar area is perfectly 'nice' though as it backs onto the main hallway and corridor it does slightly lack atmosphere. For the kids there is a games room, but I was surprised to find out that the all the facilities were "pay as you go" and felt that a hotel of this calibre should offer a games room with ping pong, pool and table football for free.

The spa and swimming pool area is always a welcome addition to the end of a ski day, especially if you have young kids. Do be aware that it is very busy between 4 and 5:30pm, but then quickly dies down after 6pm when the younger kids go do have their dinner. The spa, as others have pointed out, is a traditional Austrian nude zone, but those who feel bashful can rest assured that you can wear a strategically placed towel in the steam room and saunas. Both my wife and I had a massage which was excellent and good value for money.

As a final point its worth noting that the main Obergurgl ski school uses the dining room of the E&G at lunchtime for their supervised lunch. For this they charge €18 a head and my children reported back that for this they got a "watery broth with a dumpling" and usually some form of pasta for the main - I'm not sure this represents great value.

All in all we had a great ski holiday and I would probably visit the hotel again, though equally might give one of the other 4*S hotels a try as I didn't feel that the Edelweiss & Gurgl offered the best value for money.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room overlooking the mountain
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EG-Team-Leader, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear DSBTraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your impressions. We are very sorry that we could not fully meet your expectations.

We take your feedback very seriously. In recent years, we have invested a great deal of time and money in the hotel, in the training of our staff, in the safety of our guests, in the quality of the food and in quality assurance.

We received a lot of positive feedback and very much regret that in your case we were unfortunately unable to satisfy you 100%.

This summer, we will build a team hotel to ensure that our staff are well accommodated and ready to serve our guests at a very high level at all times.

In addition, we will study all guest feedback over the summer and draw the right conclusions from it. We are sure that we can return to the usual service quality for all guests.

We would be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Family Scheiber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The hotel and its related hire business ('Scheiber Sport' - ski/equipment hire) are run with dedicated professionalism under which the customer comes first. Owing to flight difficulties we did not arrive until 9.00 p.m. on our first night. The receptionist's sole concern was to ensure we had dinner - our bags disappeared, no registration nor impressions of credit cards - instead we were whisked straight into dinner and launched into our holiday. Room key cards, ski lift passes and piste maps were waiting when we returned to reception. Our bags had been delivered to our rooms too. How refreshing a welcome in comparison to that of most hotels. We were half board - the food is varied and to a high standard both for breakfast and dinner. There are excellent facilities - including a delightful spa, bar and a dedicated fondue room too. The hotel is located next to the main lifts with basement ski hire and boot room leading straight onto the lift area. Nothing could be more convenient. The rooms are comfortable and very well equipped, with virtually all having beautiful mountain views. Our rooms/bathrooms were not especially spacious nor luxurious - but we did not care - the overall standard of the management/staff, facilities, cuisine and convenience of location carry all before them. The management and staff are truly excellent. On checking out we booked again for next year - which will be our third consecutive stay. Need one say more?

Room Tip: Best views to rear - second floor upwards.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andrewcartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-A-Team, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear andrewcartlidge,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are constantly improving and evaluating our services and your review is very important to us. We like to thank you for the time you spent and for the thoughts you shared with us.

We would be very happy to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Family Scheiber & the Edelweiss & Gurgl team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews