We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
395
164
55
42
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
164
55
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view half board main building ski shuttle reception staff fantastic hotel family room per day free minibus course meal zell am austrian alps junior suite visited this hotel public areas no air conditioning large room
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We can compare our stay in this hotel last year and this year. Cleaning has been inmproved very much since last year stay. Staff is very friendly. It's one of few hotels in town with great view to the lake. It's also kids friendly hotel. My little kid liked kids room very much. Using swimming pool depends on hours. Morning is ok, but evening might be super busy. We had 6 kids occupying all pool with no chances to swimm for somebody else. I got impression that food has also improved since last year.

Room Tip: Room without stairs is better
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Lina R, great to hear you enjoyed your journey again at the GRAND HOTEL. Certainly we hope to welcome you next year again. And of course we always to improve our services and a new pool area is planned for the next 2-3 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Fantastic hotel with half board accommodation room with a balcony overlooking the lake and mountains
Good gym, swimming pool and jacuzzi
Choice of 3 menus every evening
Free transport to ski lifts
Close to train station and bus terminal

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking lake
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear John T, we want to thank you for your great feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards from the entire GRAND HOTEL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This is definitely a five. Staff are welcoming and there is no stuffiness about them.facilities are excellent. Breakfast is excellent with a vast selection of hot and cold food - eg omlettes cooked to order. There is a choice of three menus for dinner including a full 5 course vegetarian menu. There are regular activities for non skiers such as hiking and tobogganing, and regular evening themed meals in various bars. Our room was vast with an unobstructed lake view. No background noise at all from other guests when we were in our room. And crucially for skiers, a regular bus service, morning and afternoon, to the ski lift areas.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank sean642018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The hotel is lovely and definitely worth a visit. Food was excellent and lovely choices. Good location to the ski lifts. The only downside for us, we unfortunately visited when other counties (non UK) had half term and the noise level of the 10-14 young children running around unsupervised in the bar areas / reception every evening was loud. Also, children were not allowed into the sauna but were in / out talking to their parents, so again not a quiet area. The Grand Spa is not automatically included in your stay - visits are charged at 15 Euros per person per day if you wish to use the quiet area / sauna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake and also the dining room on the ground floor has lovely views of the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia123166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear julia123166, thank you for your kind feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed our services in the restaurant and the ski area.
We apologise for the running children and certainly we will discuss your corncern within the next meeting. Nevertheless hope to welcome you soon again. We send you kind regards from the entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Large well appointed rooms with lovely lake view. Very useful free mini bus transfer to and from the ski lift. Large heated boot room. Lovely restaurant, with large choice of dishes and attentive staff. Only problem was the large number (15+) of children running around restaurant and reception, climbing on furniture and generally being very noisy. Surprising, given this was the end of January when it would be expected they would be in education. Hotel tried their best, even employing a magician to try to mitigate the impact on other dinners. Problem was clearly lack of parental supervision, but hotel management needs to take a stronger line should this reoccur.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank 26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear 26sailor, thank you very much for your kind feedback. Your opinion is very important for us, because only with your feedback we do have the chance to optimize our service.
We apologise for the inconvenience in the restaurant and lobby area. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you another time again and remain with kind regards from the entire GRAND HOTEL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews