We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
395
166
57
43
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
166
57
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view half board main building reception staff fantastic hotel family room per day free minibus course meal zell am austrian alps junior suite visited this hotel public areas no air conditioning shuttle bus large room
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This is definitely a five. Staff are welcoming and there is no stuffiness about them.facilities are excellent. Breakfast is excellent with a vast selection of hot and cold food - eg omlettes cooked to order. There is a choice of three menus for dinner including a full 5 course vegetarian menu. There are regular activities for non skiers such as hiking and tobogganing, and regular evening themed meals in various bars. Our room was vast with an unobstructed lake view. No background noise at all from other guests when we were in our room. And crucially for skiers, a regular bus service, morning and afternoon, to the ski lift areas.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank sean642018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The hotel is lovely and definitely worth a visit. Food was excellent and lovely choices. Good location to the ski lifts. The only downside for us, we unfortunately visited when other counties (non UK) had half term and the noise level of the 10-14 young children running around unsupervised in the bar areas / reception every evening was loud. Also, children were not allowed into the sauna but were in / out talking to their parents, so again not a quiet area. The Grand Spa is not automatically included in your stay - visits are charged at 15 Euros per person per day if you wish to use the quiet area / sauna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake and also the dining room on the ground floor has lovely views of the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia123166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear julia123166, thank you for your kind feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed our services in the restaurant and the ski area.
We apologise for the running children and certainly we will discuss your corncern within the next meeting. Nevertheless hope to welcome you soon again. We send you kind regards from the entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Large well appointed rooms with lovely lake view. Very useful free mini bus transfer to and from the ski lift. Large heated boot room. Lovely restaurant, with large choice of dishes and attentive staff. Only problem was the large number (15+) of children running around restaurant and reception, climbing on furniture and generally being very noisy. Surprising, given this was the end of January when it would be expected they would be in education. Hotel tried their best, even employing a magician to try to mitigate the impact on other dinners. Problem was clearly lack of parental supervision, but hotel management needs to take a stronger line should this reoccur.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank 26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear 26sailor, thank you very much for your kind feedback. Your opinion is very important for us, because only with your feedback we do have the chance to optimize our service.
We apologise for the inconvenience in the restaurant and lobby area. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you another time again and remain with kind regards from the entire GRAND HOTEL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is just amazing . I went there in the summer with my wife and two kids and we didn’t want to leave . The hotel is not new but it’s still well maintained . Make sure you have a room with a view and just enjoy the beauty of zell am see lake .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nabil1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear nabil1974, great to hear that you enjoyed the services of our hotel already twice. Furthermore we want to thank you for your kind feedback and of course we hope to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We stayed at this hotel in the beginning of February for one week and had absolutely fantastic week.
The hotel has it own history and charm. Friendly and helpful stuff, immaculately clean rooms.
The hotel is in a very good location only six minutes walk to City express lift. So, as we are snowboarding for us it was not a big deal to go on foot:)
The hotel offers a wide variety of activities during the day like: pilates in morning, yoga during the day in the park, afternoon live music and evening programs. So if you are not an avid skier or snowboarder and want to take a break for a day or two from the mountains you will have plenty activities.
Dinners were really very good you could and you could choose from three set menus: Meat, Healthy and Vegetarians. Dishes were served like in high class restaurants.
Special thank you should be said to our waiters Alfred and Anita. From the very first day they were so attentive that remembered all our preferences.
We will come back here for summer holidays!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ieva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Ieva B, thank you so much for your great feedback. We would love to welcome you another time again at the GRAND HOTEL and send you kind regards from the entire GRAND HOTEL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews