We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
FindHotel
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
440
263
157
70
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
440
263
157
70
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location french quarter petite room balcony suite bourbon street historic building rooms are small jackson square continental breakfast few blocks mardi gras courtyard nola luggage bellman charm brick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Staff was great. Rooms were clean. Very akward getting to and from my room. Great location. Easy walking to restaurants and Bourbon Street. Horrible last night stay with the couple next door fighting and screaming all night.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ahbauer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmarian0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear ahbauer50,
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to see you had issues with the neighbors on the last night, but glad that your stay was otherwise pleasant.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

A great quaint hotel in the French Quarter without all the noise. Funky old building with lots of character. I stayed in a small room on the top floor; be sure you can walk stairs, Bellman brought up my luggage. Loved the location.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizzie679619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Lizzie,

We're glad you found the property to be memorable and enjoyable. We are happy to represent the Hotel Royal and all its charms.

We'd love to have you back--let us know next time you plan to be in the area.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

i was shocked there was no elevator. We had to climb 35 stairs to get to our room. This issue was met with difficulty throughout our stay. The room was nice and clean however it was too small barely had room to walk around the bed.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ilikered1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

We do not include an elevator in the description and advertisement of the Hotel Royal as there has never been an elevator on the property. The layout of the hotel does not allow for an elevator. Were we to try and make every room accessible by elevator, it would require several sections of the hotel to be torn completely apart in order to install several elevators at different points throughout the property. In maintaining the integrity of this old historic building, this is, unfortunately, not a possibility. The present-day Hotel Royal is an elaborate reflection of a few old French Quarter buildings that have been joined together to form the hotel. These buildings date back as far as the 1740s. The city of New Orleans works hard to maintain the original integrity and charm of the historic architecture that draws people in from all over the world to admire and enjoy.

In the process of booking a reservation at the Hotel Royal, there are several room types listed--each thoroughly and accurately described--including the smallest and lowest-cost room, the Petite Room. This room is described accurately on all booking engines as well as our company's homepage. The other room types which feature more space are described accurately as well.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The staff was so friendly and helpful, they even have a map with their favorite restaurants which we tried a few and were great! The location was amazing especially for the price. One street away from Bourbon and a couple away from the water. Overall, very nice experience!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aaaaaad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear guest,

We're glad you had a nice time staying at the Hotel Royal. The location and the historic charm of the property are perfect for an intimate visit to the French Quarter.

Thanks for sharing your nice review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This was the perfect hotel for our needs. Within walking distance of almost everything and the staff was amazing! Our hotel room was clean and the hotel itself is beautiful. If you're a fan of the show The Originals, the courtyard was used to film parts of the show; something I didn't know before booking but was interesting to find out during our stay. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lbm7055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

We will definitely be looking forward to having you! We appreciate your warm review and thoughtful praise. We take great pride in providing and representing such an exceptional historic property.

Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews