We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour.”
Review of Beyond the Bayou

Beyond the Bayou
Book In Advance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Beyond the Bayou is an environmental and cultural tour company. Our unique and locally crafted packages accommodate 2-10 guests with transportation provided from New Orleans. We only partner with knowledgeable and authentic local operators. Explore scenic swamps, tour the Treme, take a Cajun cooking class, or dance the night away to Zydeco music!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 2 May 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakekelston, Manager at Beyond the Bayou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whitney plantation"
in 22 reviews
"rabbit gumbo"
in 3 reviews
"swamp tour"
in 9 reviews
"cajun country"
in 2 reviews
"lake martin"
in 2 reviews
"hour paddle"
in 2 reviews
"hush puppies"
in 2 reviews
"cypress trees"
in 2 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
"his passion"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 2 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"kayaking"
in 5 reviews
"jared"
in 5 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakekelston, Manager at Beyond the Bayou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We did a guided tour of the Whitney plantation, then Nottoway mansion tour with overnight stay and the Atchafalaya Basin swamp tour organized by Beyond the Bayou.

Even though we booked only 2 days in advance the organization was great and eveeything worked out wonderfully. Our guide Will knows a lot about the area and was very helpful and fun the two days he accompanied us.

Whitney plantation is an absolute must-see as one of the only plantation tours in the area giving insights to the slaves' perspective. This tour really brought across the tragic history of the area, the guide was absolutely awesome. In the shop there is a lot of interesting additional reading.

Nottoway is a very beautiful antebellum mansion, lovingly restored and turned into a resort - very good food and accommodation and a bit of a counterpoint to Whitney plantation perspective-wise.

The Atchafalaya Basin tour was really a highlight, it was done by Al Wilson, a very knowledgeable naturalist who showed us all kinds of wildlife and gave tons of interesting info about the local vegetation and history of the swamp and also a bit of current projects /pipelines threatening the environment.

Highly recommended to all who would like an authentic and ecologically sound experience!

Thank Kare666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakekelston, Manager at Beyond the Bayou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you so much for joining us on our Historic Plantation & Swamp Overnight, and for writing this lovely review. I am so glad that it worked out for everyone on short notice and that you thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I am happy you got to experience the two plantations, so different from one another, and that you got to get deep into the swamp with Al, he is an awesome guide, right? Glad to hear Will was so helpful and fun to travel with, I know he enjoyed his time with you as well. Thanks again and please come back and visit sometime soon, we would love to take you up to Cajun Country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The small group on a smaller boat made for the perfect swamp tour. We were able to slip through sections that were narrow and tucked away. It was so beautiful. The sights were mesmerizing. Andrew was super knowledgeable. I like how he shared many details about the region and all about the animal and plant life in the area. We were able to have moments of silence taking in the beauty balanced with his highly engaging descriptions. I learned a ton. We saw so much wildlife, including four alligators, but it never felt invasive. I would do this tour again.

Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakekelston, Manager at Beyond the Bayou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

We agree that the experience is so much better with a small group on a small boat. Isn't it fun cutting through those narrow channels with the dense foliage on either side? Spotting birds and alligators along the river's edge? We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your tour with Andrew, he is a fantastic guide. Glad you appreciated the unique natural beauty here and learned so much about our ecosystems. It is really beautiful here. Thanks so much for choosing to tour with us, and for taking time out of your day to write this awesome review. Take care, and we would love the chance to host you on another adventure if you return to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakekelston, Manager at Beyond the Bayou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beyond the Bayou also viewed

 

Been to Beyond the Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing