We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bungalow By Camellia
Nearby Hotels
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
14
2
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Rooms were decent but bathrooms were tiny. Has a nice view of the Gregory lake and you can walk to the entertainment area by the lake. There was a weird smell coming around the car park area. We were there for 2 nights. Our family were staying in 5 out of 7 rooms. Both nights staff informed us by 9.30 pm that our kids were loud n they were getting complaints from those who staying in the other 2 rooms. However when I talked to the foreign couple the next morning they were very friendly and said they did not complain. So staff has basically lied to us.
Anyway if you are going there with kids and want to have a good time this place is NOT recommended unless you reserve the whole bungalow.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank rjanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived the same day as climbing Adams peak, as it was raining heavily we spent an afternoon in the room and it was great, clean, spacious amd great tv.
The shower is hot and has good pressure.
The staff in the kitchen (chef and waiters) are phenomenal.
Comfortable beds.

The reason i maked it down is the misleading price.
The hotel added a 10% service change onto the booking rate and onto all food ordered from the restaurant. The service charge on the restaurant is fair as it does state this on thr menu however nowhere does it say an additional 10% is added to the entire room fee on booking.com and it feels a little underhanded.

Deal with Spencer as much as you can. He is new so doesn't always know the answer but will find out rather than making it up. He helped find us the best money exchange and booked a taxi for sightseeing at a great rate.
We had an issue with someone else on reception over charging for a few items including dinner and transfers.

Note the hotel is about 2k outside the main town,so there nothing within walking distance. Do not pay more than Rs 500 more for a rickshaw from the railway station.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bhadresh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Nuwara Eliya is so picturesque. We fell in love as soon as we got here.

We stayed at the bungalow for two nights & it exceeded our expectations. I was expecting a simple B&B but was amazed with the bungalow & the staff.

The bungalow is run by Iranga & his professional staff (Pradeep, Yasodaran, Joseph and Jerom). They are friendly, courteous & will go extra mile for your comfortable stay. We felt like home.

We got double & triple room, they were clean, comfortable and well maintained. All our rooms had electric heater but we did not have to use as the rooms were well insulated.

Bathrooms had all the modern ammenities. Of all the places we have stayed, the only place that offered hand towels! They also have in-house laundry.

Bungalow is situated close proximity to the town centre. You can get to the town centre in 10 minutes by tuktuk. It is also nice stroll to the town.

It tends to rain in the evenings, so we decided to eat at the bungalow. I would highly recommend Srilankan chicken curry & rice (item #38). This was the best srilanka curry I have tasted in the trip. Even my local driver agrees with the flavours. Right amount of spices & bangs of flavours.

Jerom has more than 15 years of experience & knows his spices. You can ask him to suit your taste whether you want him to go easy on the chilies or not. We had soup, chicken curry, prawn curry & chicken tikka wrap for dinner.

Before you go to bed just let them know what time you would like your breakfast, they will prepare according to your time preference. Breakfast consists of fresh juice, fruit platter, choice of eggs, sausages,sautéed mushrooms, baked beans, bread & tea/coffee.

We hardly stayed in our rooms. Lounge area was comfortable & we chatted with the friendly staff.

The internet in the rooms & lounge area was fast. We managed to upload lot of 4K videos of our trip with breeze. This is definitely a plus for me.

Our drive was also happy with his room, he said lot of the places he has to stay are either crammed, dirty or smelly. His room was spacious, comfortable bed & clean. He got a good night sleep here. Even he was impressed with the facilities.

Recommended for couples, family & solo traveller who would like to stay is Nuwara Eliya for more than 1 day., even though the reception is not 24 hours per say, Pradeep and his staff lives in the premises so there is always someone around to help you out. Bungalow is very homely, staff are easy to talk to. Do chat with the staff while you are staying.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
5  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Stayed just one night here as we were travelling around, but found the staff to be very friendly, and accommodating. We got the attic room, a lovely open space and views over the lake. Its a little out of the city, should cost you around 250rps to get there, so just make sure you get a decent tuktuk driver!

Room Tip: The attic room was lovely space.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GaelicKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and it definitely exceeded my expectations. I think this set benchmark to all other bungalows.
Pros:
1. Very professional, friendly, helpful and flexible staff
2. Perfect location. Walking distance to the greogary park
3. Very clean, spacious cozy and comfi rooms with attached bathrooms with all the facilities
4. Food is super delicious
5. Price is very reasonable.
Perfect place to spend with your family in Nuwaraeliya.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Bhagya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews