We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Sari Homestays
Ranked #7 of 10 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We were lucky enough to be able to share a few days with a lovely family through the Alam Sari Homestays. We were unsure of where to go initially but our taxi dropped us off at the Alam Sari Resort where we were welcomed and permitted to use their pool facilities. This was very refreshing.

We were then picked up by Putu (our host) who was a lovely gentle man full of enthuisiasm and kindness. He was very eager to share his life with us and we eagerly listened and learnt. We also spent some time at the Keliki Art School were we learnt a little about Keliki art. What a beautiful form of art work it is- labour intensive with a great attention to detail. Highly recommend you have a look at it.

Our first evening was spent with Putu, and his family- his daughter spoke lovely English. We learnt more about their religious beliefs and the many offerings that they were preparing. We had a lovely evening with this very warm and generous family.

Unfortunately for us we were at Alam Sari for one of their most important religious days which meant that there were prior commitments that the family had so we were unable to spend more time with them on this occasion.

The room we had was comfortable with a lovely outdoor area to sit and enjoy the tasty home cooked breakfast. Showers did not have hot water, though this was not really an issue as weather was very hot. Room was equipped with a fan. The Alam Sari Resort is a 15 minute walk away and we were able to utilise their pool facilities and restaurant.

It would be useful to have your own transport as the homestay is a bit isolated from other things. It was only a 15-20 minute drive to the beautiful Tegalalang Ricefields.

We felt very honoured to meet such lovely people and to be welcomed so warmly into their family compound. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happyaussie865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a family in a small village very near Alam Sari. The family were so warm, welcoming and attentive. It allowed us to find out how they lived and how the compound environment works. The food was amazing and we could even be cooked for in the evenings. The excursions Alam Sari offer are good and all offer transfers from your Homestay. So if you want to find out about Balinese life and soak up the atmosphere, then this is for you! Amazing!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in alam sari homestay for 4 nights during our trip in Indonesia and it was a really great experience! It's a good 15 minute drive from ubud in a small village about 3km north but I really couldn't fault anything. Our room was lovely, there is an outside bathroom which was fine for us, and came with hot water but most importantly we really felt immersed in Balinese culture. We stayed with Dewa and Jeru and they took time to explain all of their local traditions. There are lots of activities to keep you entertained, we did a traditional painting class, cooking class and had a day trip to ubud but there are lots more activities that you can become involved in and they all support the local community. We ate nearly all of our meals in the house and they were so great, everything- even the coconut oil- is sourced from the village and you can taste it! If you're looking for something authentic then this really is the place to come! (You are also able to use the swimming pool at the nearby hotel if you want to..... :-D)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I dont know where to start...The people, the weather, the food or the culture..everything about Bali is beautiful and the staying with Dewa and his family was the best way to immerse my friend and i into the way of life in this paradise island! The second we arrived at the resort we were welcome with big smiles. Then Jeru (Dewa's wife) picked us up and took us up the road to there home in there beautiful, friendly little village. There we were welcomed by the family and offered a lovely resfreshing ginger tea while we relaxed on our little lounge beds on our porch...within minutes all the stress of travelling disappeared and we felt as though we were home watchin the kids drawing and playin next to us and the rest of the family gathered together cooking and making offerings for the gods in the evenings. They couldnt do enough for us and we felt more welcomed then anywhere we'd ever been before. We are even discussing visiting again next time we go back to asia. I really couldnt recommend this place enough!
Fantastic memories we'll cherish forever love it love it love it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnNa_R1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at two different homestays and both experiences were amazing! Both places were magical, super clean, extremely comfortable and with the most amazing hosts!!!
Waking up in one of Alam Sari's homestays is like waking up in a dream: the sounds of nature all around you, the traditional homes and the colourful breakfasts... you just want to keep going back!
If you get the chance spend sometime talking to your hosts, they are very friendly and can tell you the most extraordinary stories about the village and about Balinese culture.
The nights in Keliki and the activities organized by the hotel (cooking classes and painting) were by far the most exciting thing we did in Bali... and I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Any room is good but whichever house you are in make sure you sign up for one of Dewa and Jero's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisabetta_borzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegalalang hotels
2.5 km away
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
14.2 km away
Puri Sebatu Resort
Puri Sebatu Resort
#1 of 2 in Tegalalang
269 reviews
6.9 km away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 25 in Tegalalang
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Tegalalang
169 reviews
3.2 km away
Pandawas Villas
Pandawas Villas
#3 of 25 in Tegalalang
213 reviews
1.7 km away
Alam Sari
Alam Sari
#3 of 10 in Tegalalang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari Homestays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari Homestays

Address: Jln. Raya Keliki, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range: HK$125 - HK$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alam Sari Homestays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alam Sari homestays are guest rooms built into family compounds in the artist village of Keliki, near Ubud. Set among the rice fields and temples of this artist village, each homestay offers you the chance to experience the daily life of the Balinese as well as the cultural and natural attractions of the Ubud area. Join us in our comfortable guest rooms and come face to face with the real Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and WingontravelTA so you can book your Alam Sari Homestays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing