We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Saudara Home(Tegalalang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pandawas Villas(Tegalalang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alam Sari(Tegalalang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Sebatu Resort(Tegalalang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Amrita(Tegalalang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a family in a small village very near Alam Sari. The family were so warm, welcoming and attentive. It allowed us to find out how they lived and how the compound environment works. The food was amazing and we could even be cooked for in the evenings. The excursions Alam Sari offer are good and all offer transfers from your Homestay. So if you want to find out about Balinese life and soak up the atmosphere, then this is for you! Amazing!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in alam sari homestay for 4 nights during our trip in Indonesia and it was a really great experience! It's a good 15 minute drive from ubud in a small village about 3km north but I really couldn't fault anything. Our room was lovely, there is an outside bathroom which was fine for us, and came with hot water but most importantly we really felt immersed in Balinese culture. We stayed with Dewa and Jeru and they took time to explain all of their local traditions. There are lots of activities to keep you entertained, we did a traditional painting class, cooking class and had a day trip to ubud but there are lots more activities that you can become involved in and they all support the local community. We ate nearly all of our meals in the house and they were so great, everything- even the coconut oil- is sourced from the village and you can taste it! If you're looking for something authentic then this really is the place to come! (You are also able to use the swimming pool at the nearby hotel if you want to..... :-D)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I dont know where to start...The people, the weather, the food or the culture..everything about Bali is beautiful and the staying with Dewa and his family was the best way to immerse my friend and i into the way of life in this paradise island! The second we arrived at the resort we were welcome with big smiles. Then Jeru (Dewa's wife) picked us up and took us up the road to there home in there beautiful, friendly little village. There we were welcomed by the family and offered a lovely resfreshing ginger tea while we relaxed on our little lounge beds on our porch...within minutes all the stress of travelling disappeared and we felt as though we were home watchin the kids drawing and playin next to us and the rest of the family gathered together cooking and making offerings for the gods in the evenings. They couldnt do enough for us and we felt more welcomed then anywhere we'd ever been before. We are even discussing visiting again next time we go back to asia. I really couldnt recommend this place enough!
Fantastic memories we'll cherish forever love it love it love it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnNa_R1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at two different homestays and both experiences were amazing! Both places were magical, super clean, extremely comfortable and with the most amazing hosts!!!
Waking up in one of Alam Sari's homestays is like waking up in a dream: the sounds of nature all around you, the traditional homes and the colourful breakfasts... you just want to keep going back!
If you get the chance spend sometime talking to your hosts, they are very friendly and can tell you the most extraordinary stories about the village and about Balinese culture.
The nights in Keliki and the activities organized by the hotel (cooking classes and painting) were by far the most exciting thing we did in Bali... and I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Any room is good but whichever house you are in make sure you sign up for one of Dewa and Jero's astonishing cooking classes!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisabetta_borzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had an amazing time at Alam Sari's village stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Ubud and want a true cultural experience. My boyfriend and I spent just 1 day in Ubud but still wanted to experience it all and the hosts here did everything they could to make that possible.

The place was pretty easy to find, easy to miss since it is literally hidden in the foothills (about a 15 min drive to the city center). Right when we arrived, two of the staff came down to carry our luggage to the front desk, checked us in, and then drove us to the community we were staying with just a few minutes away. There were rice fields, other villages and temples and little shops along the way, which you can visit if you wanted to. The room itself was very comfortable - super clean linoleum floors, towels, soap, etc. There was even a private porch area with chairs and a table where you can have tea or breakfast.

We were then driven to our cooking class/dinner, where our host Made and a few women in the community taught us how to cook traditional Balinese foods. The cooking class was pretty long - 3 to 4 hours, mainly because the staff was really interested in getting to know you and telling you about heir culture. We cooked coconut chicken curry, banana leaf chicken dumplings, corn fritters, rendang, traditional mixed vegetables (our favorite), rice, sambal, and tempeh. Very authentic - they even use pure coconut oil that they make in the village!

After dinner we turned in back to our rooms, which was actually pretty quiet at night. Air flows freely through little flower keyholes near the ceiling so you can hear crickets and roosters crowing in the morning. When we woke up, the hosts were up and served us tea, fruit and breakfast on our porch.

Anytime you want to go anywhere, you can tell the hosts, who seem to magically appear whenever you need anything, and they'll call over a driver to take you. We paid a nominal fee for essentially car service for the day - something ridiculously cheap. They took us to the most scenic points of the rice terraces, gift shops, to the city central to eat babi guling, back to the main lodge to check out, then to the airport. Service was amazing - I almost felt guilty because they were being so accommodating.

Just note that some village stays don't have hot water, while others do, and the rooms don't have AC, but in the foothills, it gets pretty cool at night anyway. No bug bites either, even though I'm usually a mosquito magnet.

Such an amazing price too for what you get. Would highly recommend he experience!

Room Tip: Make sure to specify if you want o pay (I think it's like 2 dollars more) for a room with hot water because not all rooms do.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banananancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews