We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key resort with cultural ties to the local village.”
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #3 of 10 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Our small family very much enjoyed our 3 nights at Alam Sari in June 2017. We booked on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there some years ago and were not disappointed. The resort is committed to eco-friendly practices (incuding limiting the use of plastics), employing local people from the nearby village of Keliki, and supporting cultural maintenance activities in the Keliki. The rooms are large and well appointed, Balinese-style, with air-con and private bathroom (our family room, Mangga, had 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms with a shower and toilet each). The staff were wonderful - super-welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The pool is as good as the pictures look and we spent a lot of time in and around it. The restaurant was open all day and the food delicious and varied enough for all our tastes - some Balinese, Indonesian and more western as well - sometimes we ordered food by the pool, and in the evening we chose to eat at the resort rather than race around busy Ubud. There is a free shuttle into Ubud 3 times a day (9, 12, 5). We went to a dance show one night and arranged for Putu to collect us afterwards (100,000 IRP) - he was ready with a smile when we emerged and we had a late simple supper back at the resort when we returned. The absolute highlights of our stay at Alam Sari were the cultural elements: Putu guided us through the resort's garden and Keliki village the first morning we were there and this gave us a much greater understanding of the Balinese way of life. The tour included a stop at the Keliki painting school - a place for the village painting 'masters' to pass on their cultural traditions. There is no pressure to buy, but if you do, 80-90% of your purchase price is returned to the individual artist - many of them children and young people which helps them financially with their education. The second morning Dewa picked us up for a cooking class - first we walked around some more parts of the village, this time learning about the food production as well as some Balinese philosophies. We arrived at his family compound and had a cooking class where we learned how to cook 5 different dishes - all delicious! Our daughter (10) was captivated for the entire time too! We also learned a little more about family and village life which has been going on in similar style for over 800 years. The only negative for our stay was the noisy road below our family room: much (friendly) beeping to the spirits as bikes cross the ravine, and some very loud motorbike engines at times. There are 2 other family rooms and other rooms and villas which are not so noisy, but without the spectacular view to Mt Agung in the morning and/or proximity to the pool. If you contact the resort you can discuss your needs and preferences. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Alam Sari. We intend to return - having the opportunity to be shown aspects of the Balinese culture in such a welcoming environment is very special.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter but don't get the view. Make sure you take a cooking class in Keliki vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gumtree2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your very detailed review and we look forward to your return with us again soon! Knowing that your highlight staying with us was the cultural experience you had, is very rewarding, as this has been our vision since we opened 20 years ago. We have forged a strong network of friendships and connections with the Balinese community, and continue to make Alam Sari a place of learning as well as relaxation. We believe Alam Sari, located in the heart of local traditional villages, can provide a window into the lives and culture of the Balinese, and that we have much to learn and appreciate from their way of life. Our staff are delighted to share their lives with guests by welcoming them with true Balinese hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Wow this is a friendly place set in a jungle oasis. With the singing yoga lessons and the food straight from their own garden to your plate you can taste the freshness. Awesome place with fantastic attentive staff...if you wana connect with nature this one is for you!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank kiamaliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

The singing yoga lessons came compliments of our wonderful Balinese yoga instructor, Luh Manis, who teaches at our yoga retreats. We're so glad you had this opportunity to meet her and share her deep connection to this island she loves. Alam Sari is becoming sought after as a place of retreat from the busy, commercial world, so its great that you experienced the tropical nature in its raw beauty at our resort. Thank you for your review!

Aprile Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

When we arrived to the resort, we were met by Aprile, her general manager, Bagus and her amazing, generous and humble staff. We immediately felt welcome and we were treated like family from the moment we walked in. 
The resort is surrounded by nature and the grounding feeling of the earth, the trees and the plants is simply indescribable. 
Aprile has a deep and intense desire to keep the Balinese culture within the resort, to inform people of the beauty, the compassion, the purity, the love and the trust behind their gestures, their belief and their complete gratitude.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank josephinehierzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Welcome to our Alam Sari family, and we hope you will return again soon. It fills me with joy to know that you were touched so deeply by the experience of Alam Sari, especially our beautiful Balinese staff. Many of them have been with us for the 20 years we have operated this small resort among the beautiful traditional villages of Bali. We hope many others will have this same experience when visiting us, of being immersed in the cultural side that remains very much alive here.

Aprile Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We came here on recommendation of two friends. This stay has been exceptional! Our room is great and the beds luxurious. The pool is beautiful and the views are stunning. We can even see Mount Agung from our room. The staff are so kind and friendly. On my first night here, I had a fall in town and badly grazed my leg- not only did they help me clean it but were very attentive to me around the hotel asking how I was. The food is also great. Breakfast includes homemade croissants and jam and very good coffee. You can go to the organic garden and get vegetables, fruits and spices too. Alam Sari is not just coming to a hotel but also learning about the local culture. Included in your stay will be a walk around the local rice paddies fields and village, with a visit to a local art school at the end. The guide is very informative and tells you about the organic garden to the locals ways of life. You can also get a free shuttle tour to Ubud in the day there and back which is a great way to explore town. To top it off we had a cooking class booked through the hotel where went to a beautiful Balinese house and learnt to cook and ate some very tasty local food including corn fritters cooked in coconut oil and chicken curry. Blew our minds. The hospitality here is world class, we shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rosannacantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. We're delighted your stay was everything you hoped. It is very encouraging to know that you have been touched by the friendliness of our Balinese staff, and that you made such a meaningful connection to the local culture during your stay. Dewa and Jeru's cooking course in the village gives our guests so many insights into the way of life of the Balinese, so we're very happy you had the chance to experience this. We've spent a lot of time with our kitchen staff to bring fresh, home grown local produce to the restaurant table, and delicious food prepared in our kitchen, such as our croissants, red rice crepes, homemade papaya jam and marmalade to name a few! You are part of our Alam Sari family now and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon!
Aprile Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed for 1 week at Alam Sari, but we could have stayed for a month. I booked it because of the reviews about the service and it didn't disappoint. Every staff member was so helpful and accommodating and went above and beyond. We had one of their family rooms- it's like 2 adjoining suites, which was absolutely perfect for our family of 4 (with our 2 young ones, ages 3 & 1). The pool is great for the kiddos too because there are essentially 3 tiers of depths! They had a yoga room as well that I was able to use with the kids to do some yoga throughout the week. Use their drivers as well - they are all superb & very good - even from the airport, which was great! And take advantage of the free Village Tour they offer - we thought it was such a wonderful added bonus- seeing their organic garden and tasting a few of the fruits, walking through the rice paddies, etc. Not stroller friendly, but we had a baby carrier and it was perfect! And the spa was wonderful too - I got a massage and scrub & soak and it was worth every penny. The only downfall was that the internet was a little slow and spotty. But we found this to be the case all over Bali unless you go to one of the internet cafe/working spots. A little unfortunate that the internet can't be more reliable, but we got enough work done to get us through the week.
Oh and in the Keliki Village, there is a great Thai restaurant worth checking out too.
Ah....can't say enough good things about this place. We've been traveling all over and my daughter still says this is her favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredToddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,


Warm greetings from Alam Sari The Essence Of Bali...

Thank you for staying with us and highlighting us as a Leisure place to stay! We like your brief descriptions of our facilities and thank you very much for the video shoot of our property and the village activities.
We highly appreciate your compliment that we have great people and warm hospitality.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Alam Sari in the very near future!

Once again thank you very much


Best regards

Ida bagus anggarama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
4.3 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.6 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,231 reviews
3.9 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Tegalalang
159 reviews
12.6 km away
Puri Sebatu Resort
Puri Sebatu Resort
#1 of 2 in Tegalalang
263 reviews
5.5 km away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#37 of 199 in Ubud
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range: HK$343 - HK$874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, WingontravelTA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing