We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alam Sari
Nearby Hotels
Villa Sarna Ubud(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alam Sembuwuk Resort(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$53
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Hari Resort & Villas(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Sebatu Resort(Tegalalang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sanga House(Tampaksiring)
Booking.com
View Deal
Alam Puisi Villa(Tampaksiring)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
173
80
22
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
80
22
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage tourorganic gardencooking classlocal villagetraffic noise from the roadbalinese culturerice paddiesfamily roomyoga retreatgunung agungmeditation roomartist housecome homefamily compounddelicious foodhighlight of our tripsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Wow this is a friendly place set in a jungle oasis. With the singing yoga lessons and the food straight from their own garden to your plate you can taste the freshness. Awesome place with fantastic attentive staff...if you wana connect with nature this one is for you!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank kiamaliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

The singing yoga lessons came compliments of our wonderful Balinese yoga instructor, Luh Manis, who teaches at our yoga retreats. We're so glad you had this opportunity to meet her and share her deep connection to this island she loves. Alam Sari is becoming sought after as a place of retreat from the busy, commercial world, so its great that you experienced the tropical nature in its raw beauty at our resort. Thank you for your review!

Aprile Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

When we arrived to the resort, we were met by Aprile, her general manager, Bagus and her amazing, generous and humble staff. We immediately felt welcome and we were treated like family from the moment we walked in. 
The resort is surrounded by nature and the grounding feeling of the earth, the trees and the plants is simply indescribable. 
Aprile has a deep and intense desire to keep the Balinese culture within the resort, to inform people of the beauty, the compassion, the purity, the love and the trust behind their gestures, their belief and their complete gratitude.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank josephinehierzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Welcome to our Alam Sari family, and we hope you will return again soon. It fills me with joy to know that you were touched so deeply by the experience of Alam Sari, especially our beautiful Balinese staff. Many of them have been with us for the 20 years we have operated this small resort among the beautiful traditional villages of Bali. We hope many others will have this same experience when visiting us, of being immersed in the cultural side that remains very much alive here.

Aprile Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We came here on recommendation of two friends. This stay has been exceptional! Our room is great and the beds luxurious. The pool is beautiful and the views are stunning. We can even see Mount Agung from our room. The staff are so kind and friendly. On my first night here, I had a fall in town and badly grazed my leg- not only did they help me clean it but were very attentive to me around the hotel asking how I was. The food is also great. Breakfast includes homemade croissants and jam and very good coffee. You can go to the organic garden and get vegetables, fruits and spices too. Alam Sari is not just coming to a hotel but also learning about the local culture. Included in your stay will be a walk around the local rice paddies fields and village, with a visit to a local art school at the end. The guide is very informative and tells you about the organic garden to the locals ways of life. You can also get a free shuttle tour to Ubud in the day there and back which is a great way to explore town. To top it off we had a cooking class booked through the hotel where went to a beautiful Balinese house and learnt to cook and ate some very tasty local food including corn fritters cooked in coconut oil and chicken curry. Blew our minds. The hospitality here is world class, we shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rosannacantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. We're delighted your stay was everything you hoped. It is very encouraging to know that you have been touched by the friendliness of our Balinese staff, and that you made such a meaningful connection to the local culture during your stay. Dewa and Jeru's cooking course in the village gives our guests so many insights into the way of life of the Balinese, so we're very happy you had the chance to experience this. We've spent a lot of time with our kitchen staff to bring fresh, home grown local produce to the restaurant table, and delicious food prepared in our kitchen, such as our croissants, red rice crepes, homemade papaya jam and marmalade to name a few! You are part of our Alam Sari family now and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon!
Aprile Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed for 1 week at Alam Sari, but we could have stayed for a month. I booked it because of the reviews about the service and it didn't disappoint. Every staff member was so helpful and accommodating and went above and beyond. We had one of their family rooms- it's like 2 adjoining suites, which was absolutely perfect for our family of 4 (with our 2 young ones, ages 3 & 1). The pool is great for the kiddos too because there are essentially 3 tiers of depths! They had a yoga room as well that I was able to use with the kids to do some yoga throughout the week. Use their drivers as well - they are all superb & very good - even from the airport, which was great! And take advantage of the free Village Tour they offer - we thought it was such a wonderful added bonus- seeing their organic garden and tasting a few of the fruits, walking through the rice paddies, etc. Not stroller friendly, but we had a baby carrier and it was perfect! And the spa was wonderful too - I got a massage and scrub & soak and it was worth every penny. The only downfall was that the internet was a little slow and spotty. But we found this to be the case all over Bali unless you go to one of the internet cafe/working spots. A little unfortunate that the internet can't be more reliable, but we got enough work done to get us through the week.
Oh and in the Keliki Village, there is a great Thai restaurant worth checking out too.
Ah....can't say enough good things about this place. We've been traveling all over and my daughter still says this is her favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredToddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,


Warm greetings from Alam Sari The Essence Of Bali...

Thank you for staying with us and highlighting us as a Leisure place to stay! We like your brief descriptions of our facilities and thank you very much for the video shoot of our property and the village activities.
We highly appreciate your compliment that we have great people and warm hospitality.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Alam Sari in the very near future!

Once again thank you very much


Best regards

Ida bagus anggarama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I and our two year old daughter had such a beautiful time here. The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly. They became close to my daughter during our stay and we were all sad when it was time to leave our new friends and this peaceful sanctuary. The food was some of the best we had in Bali so we ended up eating most of our meals at the hotel. We were able to schedule a cooking class with Dewa while we were there and that was a highlight of our trip. We were invited into his home in a local village and we learned so much about the Balinese culture, belief systems, their food and just every day life. For us that is the type of experience that we search for when we travel, to be immersed in the culture. We also enjoyed a visit to the Elephant Park and the monkey forest during our stay. They are both close by and they were a huge hit with my daughter who loves animals! It was such a great experience! I highly recommend Alam Sari!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ellice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 May 2017

Dear Ellice,

Warm greetings from Alam Sari The Essence Of Bali...

Thank you for staying with us! We like your brief descriptions of our balinese culture activities and surrounding area.
Most of all, we appreciate your compliment that we have great people and warm hospitality.

Meanwhile, we certainly look forward to welcoming you at Alam Sari in the very near future!

Best regards,
Ida bagus anggarama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews