We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWEsome spot for a retreat!”
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #3 of 10 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2017

I am in Bali looking for a place for a retreat, and I found it in Alam Sari. Bagus (General Manager) shared the "Bali mindset" with so much passion, I couldn't wait to create an experience for other women. The Villas are a special place for a small (or large group) with its own little pool or kitchen. The staff make magic happen. They listened carefully and gave ideas to stretch me. The food is yummy, the space is grounding, and the service is attentive. Owner Aprile was so helpful in helping me create an itinerary that fit my vision and had special touches, like a picnic in the rice paddies. LOVE! Can't wait t bring my group.

Room Tip: Check out the Ganesha and Saraswati for retreats. It's even possible to rent the whole place if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 May 2017

Dear Mrs.Kristi,


Warmest greeting from Alam Sari The Essence Of Bali....

Thank you very much for the positive review of Alam Sari,
We are more than happy to met you and having the short conversation regarding our special Balinese program.

And we can not wait to welcoming your retreat group soon , to experience our real cultural balinese lifestyle.

Highly appreciate for your time and looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Alam Sari.


Best regards,

Ida Bagus Anggarama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

The property was disappointing to say the least. Mosquitos were a major concern and the uncleanliness of the restaurant and kitchen lead us to check out of the hotel a day earlier. Even the room toilets need major improvements. Overall the property was not even close to being as nice as what the photos suggested. The location of the hotel is quite far from the Ubud town which makes the area very quiet which some of you may like or dislike. However the service offered by the staff was very good and friendly.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank dcp000023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that we didn’t live up to your expectations. At Alam Sari we are always interested in improvement and have begun a review of the bathrooms and housekeeping procedures based on your comments. In reference to the restaurant and kitchen we would like to mention for future guests that cleanliness is paramount for us and an independent audit is conducted of our restaurant on a monthly basis by a non-affiliated restaurant owner from Ubud so that we are sure to maintain a clean and hygienic environment. This is done on top of government mandated inspections. However, we will refer this feedback to our auditor to be sure that she follows up on it with the staff on her next spot check. We have also informed the kitchen and wait staff ourselves of your concerns. At Alam Sari, our guests come first and we appreciate the feedback as it helps to guide our continual goal of improvement in providing the best service and experience possible.

Best Regards
Alam Sari Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

I decided I needed to get away from the city for a few days (Jakarta). I heard of a place nearby in Bali where Yoga Retreats are often held at Alam Sari near the lovely village of Keliki. Over the 4 days of my stay I felt like I was in an alternate universe, a tropically green oasis of peace, beauty, balance and harmony.
The staff where charming and helpful. In particular my the Driver and Tour Guide - Putu, was a gold mine of information and patience and his level of care was more like that of a close friend. I enjoyed excellent Village tours including a wonderful Artist compound in Keliki village, a Batik and weaving centre and a fabulous walk through the local rice paddies. On another day I signed up for a Balinese Cooking class and was collected from the Hotel by the wonderfully personable Dewi and taken to his family compound where I spent the morning discussing Balinese philosophy, lifestyle and history - it was a perfect morning doing all the things I love - chatting with interesting people on important issues, preparing and cooking delicious food followed by a great lunch. I would recommend this wonderful, charming resort to anyone in need of a little alone time in stunning surroundings, cared for by the sweetest people imaginable- I will of course return to this place as soon as I can.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Claire R,


Warmest greeting from Alam Sari Resort & Spa...
Thank you for taking time to review our Resort.

I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team were able to make your stay more special and memorable at Alam Sari.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!


Best regards,

Ida Bagus Anggarama
General Manager
gm@alamsari.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Booked a suite room over a month ago.. pictures showed room with an outdoor terrace and seating overlooking the landscape. When I arrived I was taken to my room to find out it was a completely different room right in the back corner of the hotel.. With no view and no terrace just a small walkway.. I was told one of the doors could not be opened as it led to managers area. There was a lounge next to the room but I was told that I could not use it. After checking the pictures I complained that this was not the room I booked and I wanted a room with an outdoor terrace as I had booked. I was then told the room I had booked was under refurbishement ! I had a look around and I said I would swap for a room by the pool. 2 of them were also under refurbishement, the other 2 empty but he said guests would be arriving to take them. The only other room offered was a small side room with no view again! I asked for a refund..which I was given. I wasted taxi money coming all the way there to find out many of the rooms are under refurbishement including the one u had booked. This is terrible service as I booked a month earlier they should have contacted me to let me know that the room wasn't available letting me decide if I still wanted to come before wasting time and money to get to the isolated location. I then asked to be taken back to ubud.. I had to wait a further 3 hours for the free shuttle bus as they wouldn't organise a taxi for me unless I paid $30. Overshadowed terrible service be warned!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Zak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 February 2017

Dear Zak,



We would like to offer our sincere apologies for your less than desirable experience. You are indeed correct that your room was changed from the original you had chosen. Unfortunately in the days prior to your stay a coconut had fallen from a nearby tree and cracked the tiles in the roof, rendering the room unusuable. I’m sorry this wasn’t clearly conveyed to you at the time. The room was placed under renovation and the tree is being removed as a hazard. Over the past month we have had a rolling renovation of some of the rooms and apologize it rendered the other rooms unavailable to move to and that the room offered wasn’t what you were expecting. In terms of the having to wait for the lift back to Ubud, this was definitely not acceptable and we have reviewed our protocols in regards to this matter with everyone in the front office to ensure it is better dealt with should a similar situation arise. At Alam Sari we always strive to put service first and please be assured your feedback has been taken to heart and led to a review of our practice. We hope the rest of your stay on the island was pleasant and apologize once again for the inconvenience.



Best Regards
Alam Sari Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

I couldn't rate Alam Sari high enough. What a beautiful place along with the most lovely staff

My friends and I enjoyed a very tranquil stay here, taking full use of the messages, pool area and lovely food.

One of my favourite nights was going to a cooking class (arranged by Alam Sari) where we were lucky enough to go to the wonderful Dewa and Jeri's home in the village nearby. We had the most amazing food, as well as an incredible experience. They fully welcomed us into their home and I was in my element cooking delicious food! That was possibly my favourite night of the whole holiday to Bali.

A staff member (arranged with Alam Sari) took us to the traditional local village, where the locals were busy preparing for a mass cremation ceremony. We also went around the grounds of the hotel to see all the organic food and herbs they grow.
I would definitely go in the electric bike tour they arrange too, absolutely amazing riding through the rice paddies!

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was really relaxing and you really feel as though you're in the middle of he jungle (minus a few cars driving by).

A lovely, lovely stay. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Amy87wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Alam Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Amy,


Warmest greeting from Alam Sari....

Thank you very much for the fantastic review of your experience stay with us.
It is very rewarding to read your kind words regarding your stay with us.
We also very happy to read that our team delivered on our promise and their service to our guest. Specially all of the balinese activities and unique setting provided memories of your visit.

Once again, Thank you very much for your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Alam Sari soon where we will again ensure a wonderful time for your next stay.


Most Sincerely,

Ida Bagus Anggarama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
4.3 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.6 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,228 reviews
3.9 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Tegalalang
159 reviews
12.6 km away
Puri Sebatu Resort
Puri Sebatu Resort
#1 of 2 in Tegalalang
263 reviews
5.5 km away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range: HK$344 - HK$875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, WingontravelTA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing