We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stopped”

Shriver House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #8 of 82 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: You may know what happened on battlefield...but do you know what happened to the families and their homes in town? The Shriver House Museum is an award-winning Civil War museum dedicated to the civilian experience during the Battle of Gettysburg. The story is told through the eyes of the Shriver family, whose ancestors settled in the area in the 1700s. While George Shriver served in the Union army, his wife, Hettie, was worried about the safety of their daughters, Mollie (5) and Sadie (7), as well as their home. When soldiers filled the streets of Gettysburg, Hettie (27) chose to take her children back to her family's farm three miles south of town, by Big Round Top; where she thought they would be out of harm's way. Hettie could not know she jumped from the frying pan into the fire or that her unoccupied home would offer the Rebels an outstanding view of Union ground. It was quickly commandeered by Confederates to set up a sharpshooters' nest in the attic. Today the Shrivers' home appears much the same way it did when it was built in 1860, just a few months before the Civil War began. Guides in period dress recount the harrowing story of the Shriver family's experiences as you walk through their home - from the Confederate sharpshooters' nest in the attic, through their finely-appointed home, to Shriver's Saloon in the cellar. The story of George Shriver was not well-known until 1996 when his house, which sat abandoned for nearly 30 years, was painstakingly restored to its original appearance. Today the Shrivers' story is one of the most intriguing stories told when it comes to the civilian aspect of the Battle of Gettysburg.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 September 2018

I absolutely loved this tour. The tour guide was very informative in explaining the impact the civilians and the Shrivers endured before and after the war. He explained how the soldiers took over the house and used the basement for medical purposes and the attic for the sharp shooters. He really put into perspective the impact the war had after the 3 day fighting. I never thought of the aftermath it left behind with the stench of death and no running water to clean up for months. It was a sad outcome for this family with the husband dying in the war and the two daughters dying in their twenties of the diseases from the nonsterile environment they had to live in. The pub never opened because back in those times, women were not allowed to own or run a business. Take the time to visit.

Thank goldendog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

This is really a fantastic review, it hits all the points of the museum that we like to highlight to our potential guests, so thank you so much for writing it! Mr. Chris is very knowledgeable and loves sharing his passion with our guests. Thank you so much for visiting the Shriver House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shriver family"
in 70 reviews
"civilian experience"
in 27 reviews
"civil war"
in 111 reviews
"tour guide"
in 60 reviews
"point of view"
in 23 reviews
"family life"
in 8 reviews
"great tour"
in 49 reviews
"tillie pierce"
in 10 reviews
"different perspective"
in 21 reviews
"bullet holes"
in 23 reviews
"dressed in period clothing"
in 12 reviews
"minute tour"
in 9 reviews
"gift shop"
in 26 reviews
"their lives"
in 11 reviews
"an excellent job"
in 9 reviews
"step back in time"
in 8 reviews
"jennie wade house"
in 8 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

The Shriver house is very interesting. The docent told us about the Shriver family and the town during the battle and afterward. The battle was 3 days but the impact on the town and everyone that lived in Gettysburg lasted much longer. Knowing the details of what this family and the whole endured helps put things into perspective and balance the tendency people have to romanticize the war.

Thank SeeTheW0rld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. For over 22 years, our mission at the Shriver House is to offer a different perspective to the Battle of Gettysburg - "The Civilian Experience" and it's aftermath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Very interesting and informative tour. Our tour guide was dressed in period clothing. The tour tells the sad tale of the Shriver Family left behind to fend for themselves in Gettysburg. I loved it. I am much more interested in the human experience than the machinations of the actual battle (although I know many people who are interested in both).

I think it added to the experience that we visited in early August. It was extremely hot and humid. The battle took place in July and one got a sense of just how hot and uncomfortable it really was for everyone involved. The upper part of the house is not air conditioned and I was amazed at the heavy attire even the men wore back in the day (as was evidenced by our tour guide dressed in period clothing who did not give any indication that the extreme heat was a bother). I was dying and I was in a tiny tank top and shorts! Ha.

There are also displays of civilian items from the Civil War and a little gift shop that sells a variety of unique items.

Well worth it and I would do it again.

Thank oceanjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. Our mission has always been to present a completely different perspective of the Battle of Gettysburg. "The Civilian Experience" and it's aftermath. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in the museum and that you learned a thing or two along the way. We are glad you chose to visit the Shriver House. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This short tour (approximately half hour) was led by a guide in period clothing, which added to the experience in my opinion. Start by walking through the narrow alley adjacent to the house to the garden, and view the bulletholes in the building along the way. The tour includes downstairs, upstairs bedrooms, the cellar, and the (not air conditioned) attic, where confederate sharpshooters fired out through holes in the brick. An exhibit displays artifacts from the restoration of the house, and a nice gift shop is on the premises. Well worth a visit!

Thank SuzyQu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. We are very happy to hear that we are a "Must See" in Gettysburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Mister Chris is an awesome tour guide. He is very knowledgeable about the Shriver Family and certainly about the Civil War. I enjoyed the tour because I learned more about the Shriver family.

Thank Rockie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Great review! Thank you. We agree that Mr. Chris is awesome and truly represents the Shriver House standards. Thank you for visiting and hope to see you again. Also, Mr. Chris has a short video on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shriver House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shriver House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing