We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Candlelight Christmas Tour

What a wonderful experience!! Nancie gave our group such an interesting perspective - that of a... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
DainteeDee
via mobile
Great civilian perspective on the battle

If you're looking for an experience beyond which regiment was positioned where on the battlefield... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
955SMJ
,
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Read all 753 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gettysburg
from US$8.95
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
568
151
30
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
151
30
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shriver family civilian experience civil war family life tour guide great tour point of view tillie pierce different perspective period costume bullet holes minute tour gift shop step back in time their lives an excellent job gettysburg experience
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

The Shriver house is very interesting. The docent told us about the Shriver family and the town during the battle and afterward. The battle was 3 days but the impact on the town and everyone that lived in Gettysburg lasted much longer. Knowing the details of what this family and the whole endured helps put things into perspective and balance the tendency people have to romanticize the war.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SeeTheW0rld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. For over 22 years, our mission at the Shriver House is to offer a different perspective to the Battle of Gettysburg - "The Civilian Experience" and it's aftermath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Very interesting and informative tour. Our tour guide was dressed in period clothing. The tour tells the sad tale of the Shriver Family left behind to fend for themselves in Gettysburg. I loved it. I am much more interested in the human experience than the machinations of the actual battle (although I know many people who are interested in both).

I think it added to the experience that we visited in early August. It was extremely hot and humid. The battle took place in July and one got a sense of just how hot and uncomfortable it really was for everyone involved. The upper part of the house is not air conditioned and I was amazed at the heavy attire even the men wore back in the day (as was evidenced by our tour guide dressed in period clothing who did not give any indication that the extreme heat was a bother). I was dying and I was in a tiny tank top and shorts! Ha.

There are also displays of civilian items from the Civil War and a little gift shop that sells a variety of unique items.

Well worth it and I would do it again.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank oceanjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. Our mission has always been to present a completely different perspective of the Battle of Gettysburg. "The Civilian Experience" and it's aftermath. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in the museum and that you learned a thing or two along the way. We are glad you chose to visit the Shriver House. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This short tour (approximately half hour) was led by a guide in period clothing, which added to the experience in my opinion. Start by walking through the narrow alley adjacent to the house to the garden, and view the bulletholes in the building along the way. The tour includes downstairs, upstairs bedrooms, the cellar, and the (not air conditioned) attic, where confederate sharpshooters fired out through holes in the brick. An exhibit displays artifacts from the restoration of the house, and a nice gift shop is on the premises. Well worth a visit!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank SuzyQu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. We are very happy to hear that we are a "Must See" in Gettysburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Mister Chris is an awesome tour guide. He is very knowledgeable about the Shriver Family and certainly about the Civil War. I enjoyed the tour because I learned more about the Shriver family.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rockie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del G, Owner at Shriver House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Great review! Thank you. We agree that Mr. Chris is awesome and truly represents the Shriver House standards. Thank you for visiting and hope to see you again. Also, Mr. Chris has a short video on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This is a house that was vacant and then restored back to the way it was during the battle. We found the exhibits in the area next door as interesting as the house. The guide did a good job explaining the history of what happened to the house and the family that lived there while the fighting raged outside during our 30 min tour. Our only complaint was that when one of our group asked a question the guide stated " We will get to that later" but never addressed the questions.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews