We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,765)
Filter reviews
3,765 results
Traveller rating
1,863
1,170
411
185
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,863
1,170
411
185
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge floor lounge new york tenth floor the empire state building roof terrace madison square park boutique hotel free coffee rooms are small bigger room street noise continental breakfast an upgrade corner room higher floor big apple
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 3,765 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018


We just stayed here for my bachelorette weekend. From booking through checkout we received the highest level of service! They were accommodating with requests for the type of room we needed, prompt to supply extra towels and other necessities and even sent up a bottle of prosecco on the house when they heard it was a special occasion. The way the rooms are set up is a bit confusing (the hallways felt like a maze) but it meant that we couldn’t really hear foot traffic in the hallways since our little section only had two other rooms. The room was a bit small but that’s to be expected in NYC. There is a lovely terrace and lounge on the 10th floor where we spent quite a bit of time relaxing in the sun. Our air conditioner did break in the middle of the second night and they sent someone to fix it promptly. It could not be fixed and the room got uncomfortably hot (we couldn’t get the window open), but staff was apologetic and comped some of our stay as compensation. The staff is courteous, warm and professional- we could tell they truly cared about the quality of our stay. Finally the location and price could not be beat! Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

From *before* my arrival, the staff went out of its way to be in touch to ensure I had what I needed. Front desk personnel were extremely courteous and quickly connected me to helpful solutions when I presented them with questions and needs. The area is beautiful and in easy walking distance of some truly enjoyable neighborhoods and treasures... both the well known variety as well as lesser-known hidden gems. Rooms are cozy, quiet, and clean. Thank you, Marcel, for a warm welcome and a terrific experience.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Gatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Than you for taking the time to rate and write about your experience at the Marcel Hotel. We strive to provide a friendly and personal experience for all guests who visit our property. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Be well,
Alopez
gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I stayed at the Marcel for a few days for a conference. During that time, the staff was exceptional, the service was great, and it exceeded all my expectations. The staff were especially helpful and parking was super easy and very affordable. I would definitely recommenced the Marcel to anyone and will be looking to stay here again during future conferences.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank benbmaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Wonderful hotel accommodations. Easy walking distance to great restaurants and parks. Staff couldn't have been friendlier and accommodating. Rooftop lounge was a plus. Trains nearby and Uber was readily available.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank flyfish49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal B, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Once again my wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Marcel. We have been going to the Marel regularly over the past couple of years and have always been treated as family by Milta and her colleagues. We always look forward to the wonderful service and hospitality at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal B, Guest Relations Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews