We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeleines, Macarons and More”

Dominique Ansel Bakery
Ranked #75 of 803 Quick Bites in New York City
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: SoHo
Description: James Beard Award-winning Chef Dominique Ansel's flagship bakery in New York City's Soho neighborhood, offering a selection of fresh-baked pastries and viennoiserie, his signature creations like the DKA (Dominique's Kouign Amann), Frozen S'more, Cookie Shot, and the Cronut®, as well as coffee and tea, savory bites, and more.
Reviewed 6 April 2021

Bakery with a reputation for quality, didn't disappoint. Indoor dining available in the 'garden' in the back, self-service. We ordered and were told to take our seat while our drinks were prepared... but there was no way to let us know they were ready. We had to go back for them and were ignored while server was attending to new take-out orders. Not nice. But were tasty.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MSLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

I remember when there were lines around the block for Dominique Ansel.

As a New York resident, I don’t fall into the hype when it comes to things like this. I believe that Dominique Ansel is great for tourists, but New Yorkers know better. Unfortunately, I had to come in today to pick up the final piece of a present.

After waiting for 5 minutes (and being side eyed by the woman behind the counter), I was finally helped. There were no pleasantries or anything. Best of all, there was no one else waiting other than me and two delivery people (who were already helped).

The baked goods are delicious and satisfying - the customer service is not. I sincerely wish you the best as many other restaurants have closed during the COVID-19 pandemic!

Date of visit: December 2020
3  Thank stanmaximoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020

We came in pursuit of the famous Cronut and keep returning because all of Dominique Ansel's other pastries are uniquely delicious! Cronuts sell out early (try and get there before 1PM), so don't be disappointed if you have to "settle" for a DKA or chocolate-coconut croissant because all of Ansel's creations are delicious! Cronut flavours change monthly, never repeat, and are always worth the wait. Your tastebuds will thank you for taking a leap of faith on the innovative flavour combinations. August's flavour of the month was fig and orange blossom while September's is pumpkin and rice pudding. The Cronut perfects the balance between crispy sugared exteriors and light, creamy fillings. We don't leave without at least four DKAs in tow, and our friends request them every trip we take into NYC! Heat the DKAs in the oven when you get home for 5-10 minutes for a flaky, buttery, warm breakfast that is heavenly. They are much more delicious than their ordinary, muffin-like appearance. For the perfect lunch, try the ham and cheese croissant, but make sure to ask the staff to heat it for you so it's warm and crispy. If you're lucky enough to score a Cronut, enjoy it with Ansel's cold brew coffee. If you miss out on Cronuts for the day, treat yourself to equally delicious DKAs!

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SnailP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

100% a must do if you go to New York DO NOT SKIP THIS cronut EXPERIENCE you WILL missing out! #1 donuts will be ruined for the rest of your life. #2 the flavor changes every month so it will not repeat. #3 if you fail to heed my words you will die a sad sad human beings. BEST BAKEY ITEM I HAVE EVER HAD in my life! (Been on the planet go 15,098 days... just saying #experience)

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank O6828IDjennifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

Be on time... go for the Cronut... third visit... no more cronuts that day. But plenty of other choices to make a visit. If you like desserts, this is the place to be.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank 394philipv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dominique Ansel Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Dominique Ansel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.