We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca(New York City)
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bryant Park Hotel(New York City)
US$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Crosby Street Hotel(New York City)
US$695
US$626
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
414 Hotel(New York City)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
190
98
36
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
98
36
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesbar restaurant attachedtimes squareweek long stay in nycblew cold airnyc streetsrooms are smallprivate terracenew yorkbed was amazingly comfortablelast minute tripa short minute walkpenthouse suitehot waterbroadway showa small boutique hotella guardia
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Great little hotel with wonderful service! Grace and Carmen are great and did so many things to make our 5 night stay the best. Gleason’s Tavern right next door has great food, cold beer and a fun atmosphere. Location is great with subway access to several lines right across the street. Only reason for 4stars was that construction was going on behind the hotel, kinda noisy but we were offered ear plugs and those helped. We highly recommend this hotel.... it’s small but has a big heart!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jim-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, General Manager at Hotel Shocard at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for providing feedback overall regarding the experience we appreciate the kind words for the staff overall. We are sorry the construction disturbed you during the stay but are happy the staff was able to help you with regard to providing you a remedy with the noise from the construction. We would love to be your hosts once again the next time you are in the New York City area once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I absolutely loved my experience at Hotel Shocard.

First and foremost, the service is excellent. As per the usual standard of hotel rooms in New York City, they aren't the biggest. However, what they lack in terms of the room size, they make up for in personality and service.

The staff have excellent recommendations for food, activities, and more. Not to mention, they make the hotel feel like a home away from home. They go out of their way to help you, make your day, and are excellent at what they do. The staff go above and beyond their job scope, from remembering your name, wanting to find out more about your culture, and just doing whatever they can to make your stay better. I have never stayed in a hotel where I have felt comfortable enough to talk to the staff or even share about my day; most hotels and staff give you the impression that they are being superficial and asking for the sake of asking, but not at the Hotel Shocard.

Regarding cleanliness, the rooms are clean, and all the amenities that you would expect at most hotels, they have. Not to mention that if something is missing, they get it up to you in a jiffy.

If you have never visited New York before, or even if you have, I would recommend the Hotel Shocard; you will feel like you are at home, away from home.

Room Tip: Call or Email in; the staff here are so happy to help at any time.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noemi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, General Manager at Hotel Shocard at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback overall about your experience we appreciate the kind words for our staff and will pass along the nice comments about our staff. We would to be your hosts once again when your travels bring you back to our area once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Shocard at the end of April. Arrived slightly early but our room was ready (they would have been willing to hold our bags if it wasn’t though!). Very clean and much bigger room than we were expecting! We had a view of a brick wall but that was not a problem for us as we were out most of the time. The staff were great, very friendly and willing to help in any way they could (including helping us try to work out the shower haha). Great location as well - right in the centre of Times Square and very close to the metro!
Highly recommend staying here - great value!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Becs837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, Manager at Hotel Shocard at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

AWW!!! Thank you so much for the review. Please come back again so we can impress you enough for five stars!! :o) We are here for you 24/7.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We had a great time staying in this hotel. Rooms are very clean and the hotel is located ln the center of new york. The staff helped us a lot and they were very nice people. It was very easy to go anywhere by foot or by train.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank noarap15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Hotel Shocard at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much for the five points. I am happy you enjoyed your time and also am grateful you choose us to make your visit worth it. We take pride in our customer service and dedicate our time to please our guest. I look forward to having you back in the near future. Please call the hotel directly at 212-703-8600 for any further bookings, and I'm sure we can take care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Shocard Hotel on our first holiday in US. I get in touch with the hotel prior to our stay TL let them know it’s our anniversary. When we got to the hotel we can see a congratulations message to us on the billboard of the hotel. We even got bottle of champagne and cakes waiting for us in the room. We were surprised and spoiled with all these personal touch. Room is in a reasonable size, very clean and the most important thing is it is so closed to everywhere.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Hotel Shocard at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

We hope you loved our surprise.Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to make your anniversary a memorable experience. We look forward to hosting you two again in the near future. Congratulations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews