We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad”
Review of Bova's Bakery

Bova's Bakery
Get food delivered
Ranked #1 of 70 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighbourhood: North End
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Not even edible. I hate even leaving a bad review, typically I wouldn’t say anything at all but since other visitors may spend their time going here and waiting and money then they should know. This was such a disappointment after all the hype but honestly everything (3 different cannolis and a eclair) were so bad we didn’t even want to eat them - it all went in the trash. Everything tasted so old and stale and the cream was old and left a disgusting oily coating in our mouth. We went on a Saturday and there were people lined down the sidewalk so I would have thought everything was fresh? But there is no way. It all had to be a week old, at least. The staff was nice though and moved the line quickly. Maybe when they are fresh they are the best but I find that hard to believe. Also it was so uncomfortable hot in the shop and felt stagnant. I hated being in there and my husband had to go stand out on the sidewalk. Like even propping the door open to allow airflow would have helped.

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank Ashlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

When we visited, we purchased a Boston Cream Donut. It is different than the original Boston Cream Pie at the Omni Parker Hotel. The chocolate was more like sauce, there was more cream, no nuts on it, and the cake was not as spongy. Differently delicious. We prefer this one to the original but would still go to Kane’s donuts if we had to choose.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

Wow! Da bestest Boston Cream Pie! We tried others, but this one wins hands down! Delish!! It had amazing flavour!!!!!!!

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2022 via mobile

Bovas is hands down the best cannoli in Boston! Challenges Termini Brothers in Philly for the best in the nation! Enjoy!

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Tad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

Most delicious desserts!!! You Must Go!!!! We had a small wait, but it’s worth it! Found on TripAdvisor & highly recommend!! This north end Italian area is great to stroll through. I cannot believe they are open 24/7!!!!! That’s awesome!!! Loved getting a late night treat after dinner! We also got some extra desserts to take the next day on our way to Maine. They tasted so unbelievably great the second day too!!! We tried a Cannoli, Lemon dessert, coconut cake & German chocolate cake~WOW!!!! Sooo delicious! Some of the best desserts we have ever had!! Highly Recommend!!!!

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank 4youFromJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Bova's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bova's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.