We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our pick for breakfast in Boston”
Review of Thinking Cup

Thinking Cup
Ranked #8 of 228 Quick Bites in Boston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Description: Thinking Cup is pleased to be the first coffee shop in Downtown Boston to serve "Stumptown Coffee" exclusively. Stumptown, originating in Portland Oregon had been named “Best Coffee in the World” by NPR, The New York Times, Food & Wine Magazine, and USA Today. To ensure exceptional quality and freshness we obtain our beans directly from Stumptown’s roasting facility in Brooklyn, New York. Established in 2010, Thinking Cup has routinely been touted as Boston's Best Coffee Shop. Not only offering award winning coffee, Thinking Cup has a very diverse menu of wonderful sandwiches to include gluten free and vegetarian options. Locally sourced and all-natural, most of the offerings are made in house. Thinking Cup can be found in three locations around Boston. In the heart of Back Bay at 85 Newbury Street, Across the Boston Common at 165 Tremont Street and in the historic North End on the Freedom Trail at 236 Hanover Street.
Reviewed 26 August 2022 via mobile

Popped in here a few times over an 8 day stay in Boston.

Great choices and good quality too.

Pastries and cakes (the Boston Chocolate/Cream being my favourite) were excellent as were the more traditional breakfast items.

Family of 5 all found different things to order over multiple days. Service friendly and effective.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

We were exhausted and hungry after a day sightseeing in the heat - and were ready for somewhere nice to eat and drink in some cool air.

A local lady recommended Thinking Cup to us and it was just perfect for what we wanted.

Delicious range of sandwiches and cakes and freshly squeezed juices - as well as some very good coffee.

Plenty of choice for the vegetarians in our group - and absolutely perfect service too.

Would heartily recommend.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank frankr832
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 March 2022

Located in the Back Bay area, this cozy place was a great coffee shop to rest your feet after walking the city streets. Staff was friendly. Their almond fig biscotti washed down with a Cafe Au Lait cup of coffee hit the spot.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank AdventureDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

We visited here almost every day during our 4 day trip in Boston as it was lovely, cozy, with amazing coffee and food. The grilled cheese and tomato sandwich is lovely. Reasonable prices too and lovely atmosphere

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank GrandTour08454064193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 June 2021

A super place to people watch while sipping wonderful coffee. Can't say too much more but I will return the next time I visit.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank BrianJonestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Thinking Cup also viewed

 

Been to Thinking Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.