We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
geofg2019
Southington, Connecticut

TOP NOTCH AGAIN!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Oct 2019
Our 3rd time to the Boxer and once again it did not disappoint. From the time we dropped the car off with the valet, till we picked it up we were treated as if we were dear friends. We had 1pm tickets for the Bruins, and early check in was no problem. Room was clean and comfortable as always, hotel is always spotless. The staff is friendly, accommodating, and always looking to enhance the guest experience. Bulfinch Social......OUTSTANDING....This isnt a Hotel Restaurant....Its a Restaurant IN a hotel. Seriously the food is as good as it gets. The service from Aaron was perhaps the best we have ever experienced, and the Executive Chef Kyle.....What a great guy! Took the time to spend some time talking to my wife and I....Genuinely interested in what we thought about the menu, the food, the direction of the restaurant and our overall experience at the hotel. Seriously!!! We thought that was so awesome.
Love the Boxer and will be back soon!
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Dear geofg2019,

Welcome back to the Boxer! WOW - this is such a special review. Thank you so very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our team of amazing associates, guest rooms and cleanliness.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding our new restaurant - Bulfinch Social! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Chef Kyle, Aaron and Chris are all superior professionals. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Most sincerely,


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$2,874
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,874
  • Vio.com
    HK$2,624
  • Official Hotel
    HK$2,874
1.0 km from The Boxer Boston
Room service
Bar/Lounge
HK$3,085
HK$2,804
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$3,084
  • Trip.com
    HK$3,085
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,804
1.0 km from The Boxer Boston
Restaurant
Room service
HK$1,772
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,772
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,772
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,849
2.1 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$1,762
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,762
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,762
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,762
1.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Restaurant
Room service
HK$3,401
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,720
  • Vio.com
    HK$2,590
  • Agoda.com
    HK$3,092
2.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
HK$2,076
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,076
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,990
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,076
0.7 km from The Boxer Boston
Restaurant
Room service
HK$2,179
HK$1,960
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,960
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,179
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,031
3.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,895
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,895
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,896
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,896
5.1 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
Omni Boston Hotel at The Seaport Lobby Gallery
HK$2,558
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,558
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,558
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,558
2.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,128
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,187
  • Agoda.com
    HK$942
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,188
7.8 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Boston
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
958
437
131
50
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
958
437
131
50
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews td garden the north end front desk boutique hotel celtics game faneuil hall great boutique valet parking minute walk walking distance beacon hill quincy market freedom trail junior suite perfect location mini bar would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2019

We stayed at The Boxer for our anniversary trip this weekend and it was fantastic. The staff was most friendly & helpful staff I have encountered at a hotel. They gave us complimentary late check out and when they found out it was our anniversary they delivered a piece of cake & water bottles to the room. Food was great. In room service was great. Very clean.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank GlobeTrotting710497
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear GlobeTrotting710497,

Thank you so very much for celebrating your anniversary with us!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Boston as well as our team and our newly opened restaurant - Bulfinch Social.

We hope to see you next year to celebrate again!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

Stayed here to be close to the train station. About a mile walk to Boston Common. Clean room, nice bathroom. Small room but cozy and nice mini bar. Breakfast was decent in the restaurant. Would stay again!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ShaneA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear ShaneA_11,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing positive words about our cleanliness, guest rooms, bathrooms and mini bar.

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our beautiful new restaurant - Bulfinch Social for breakfast. We are also open for dinner nightly and brunch on Saturdays and Sundays.....we hope you come back to see us then too!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

The location is very convenient if you are traveling for business or want to be in the downtown. The staff are helpful and the hotel is clean. However, the beds are extremely uncomfortable; the mattress gave be backache, the pillows were too firm for me, and the blankets were super heavy. The room did not have a microwave and there are no soap bars in the bathroom.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tahora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2019 via mobile

This was our first time in Boston
and our first time at the Boxer Hotel.
The stuff we're exceptionally without helpful. The room we had was excellent I was expecting a much smaller room because we were in the city and we were pleasantly surprised with what we had.
Very comfortable bed on older mod cons.
It was quite close to all the tourists things to see including the freedom tool however I will say in the evening there are a lot of homeless on the streets.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank rogerhY5668ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

The hotel and property itself are fantastic… a nice balance of historical and contemporary. The local is perfect – within a 15 min walk to Faneuil Hall and the North End or to Boston Common area. There are some great restaurants very close by if you don’t want to venture far. Upon arriving the valet and front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The woman who checked us in offered local recommendations and even offered to help with any reservations or tickets we might need. The free bicycle rental is a great amenity (we had our toddler with us so couldn’t take advantage of it this time). The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was super and the view from the 9th floor was spectacular! The mini bar snacks and refreshments are a nice plus – well stocked and a nice variety. The elevator was almost always empty and really fast! The only downside with the actual room was that the pics I saw online were a bit misleading. They made it appear that the junior suite has a separate bedroom (we need this for our little one) but the bedroom and living room areas are completely open to one another. I should have called to confirm.

Having said all of that, our overall experience was pretty poor considering the rating and price of the hotel.

We checked in around 4pm and once settled we heard a dog whining and barking next door. We didn’t pay too much attention as we were headed out to dinner. Soon after we got back to the room the people next door came back to their room and things quieted down. Around 8pm they left again and the dog (or dogs… not sure) immediately started howling and barking. It was loud and distracting but we thought it would settle down and tried to be patient but it continued for over an hour. I reached out to guest services three different times, beginning at 9:15pm and the last time sometime after 11:30pm. The first time the woman came upstairs immediately and attempted to contact the guests next door on their cell phones. She mentioned they were basically renting the room while their condo was being finished. No luck but at least she tried and offered to keep trying. At that point it hadn’t bothered my son and I assumed the dog would likely tire by the time we were ready for bed. Unfortunately this continued for almost three hours. I called guest services twice more when I was unable to sleep and the dog had woken my son. The man who answered said he would come upstairs and I never heard from him again. Finally sometime after 12:30am with the dog still making noise, I fell asleep. No one followed up to see if or how the problem was resolved that night or the following morning. Even after responding to the hotel manager’s ‘thanks for staying’ email with my experience and feedback, no response or reaction from the hotel. While I realize there wasn’t much the hotel staff could have done, at $400 for the room, taxes and parking, I would have expected a better experience and response.

Definitely a nice property and location but probably wouldn’t consider going back – there are too many other choices where I feel more valued as a guest and customer.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSmithNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews