We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bill B
Ambleside, United Kingdom

A great Night in Boston

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Sept 2019
The Boxer Hotel was great. Rooms new and clean. Restaurant was lovely and the small plates were great, inventive and featured local fare. Mitch the Manager was awesome in helping with our booking and stay.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review
Responded 12 Sept 2019
Dear wbullock,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly opened and renovated restaurant Bulfinch Social!

Mitch is great and was excited to see his name here on TA!

Cheers,

Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    HK$2,874
  • Expedia
1.0 km from The Boxer Boston
Room service
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,938
  • Expedia
1.0 km from The Boxer Boston
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,799
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,761
  • Expedia
1.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Restaurant
Room service
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    HK$2,455
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,225
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,251
0.7 km from The Boxer Boston
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,819
  • Agoda.com
3.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,908
  • Expedia
5.1 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
Omni Boston Hotel at The Seaport Lobby Gallery
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,557
  • Expedia
2.5 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    HK$988
  • Expedia
7.8 km from The Boxer Boston
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Boston
Reviews (1,613)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
958
437
131
50
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
958
437
131
50
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews td garden the north end front desk boutique hotel celtics game faneuil hall great boutique valet parking minute walk walking distance beacon hill quincy market freedom trail junior suite perfect location mini bar would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019

We enjoyed our stay in Boston for many reasons, but staying at The Boxer could count as one of them! It is centrally located to many of the sights and if not close, it was close to access to those places! The restaurant served delicious meals and had a bar attached. There was sitting space close to the entrance to enjoy reading and conversation. The check-in was accessible and the people were friendly and accommodating. While the rooms were freshly painted and modern, our room had a very limited view with only one small window in the corner. Never-the-less, it is understood it is a historic hotel and when it was built, windows were small! All part of the historic experience you might say! The remodeled bathroom and bed was very comfortable. Oh! And the Boxer dog stenciled on one of the walls was charming!

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank Claris52015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Claris52015

Wow! What a kind and lovely review this is! Thank you so very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our space, team, guest rooms and beautiful historic building!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Most kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

I can't say enough about this hotel! Very clean, great staff and great location. We had our Family reunion in Boston and the hotel staff was so accommodating. I will definitely return. Thank you for making our trip such a great experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank mcontrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear mcontrado,

THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this review! Your family were the highlight of our hotel's summer.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next year for the 101 Year Anniversary of the Feast!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

My wife and I stayed at The Boxer over Labor Day weekend. Quite frankly, we could not have had a better experience.

The location was impeccable. Situated in a pocket between the North End and the financial district, the hotel put us on the doorstep of tourist Boston. Five minutes one way and we were in the heart of the Italian district; five minutes the other way and we were at the public market or strolling the pristine streets of Beacon Hill.

Service was prompt and polite. We try not to be a burden on hotel staff and we didn't need to be; we had everything we needed and were treated courteously every time we came and went through the lobby.

Our room was pocket-sized but well-organized. We expected it to be small, but it was even smaller than we anticipated. We don't need a big room, though -- we wanted it to be our home base and it did the trick. The small setting felt cozy, not confining.

I like exploring different areas whenever I visit a city, but if I return to Boston I know where I'll stay. The Boxer will be our answer moving forward, and I recommend that it be yours, too.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Dear WesVols,

Thank you so very much for choosing to celebrate Labor Day weekend with us! I am so happy to hear that you "could not have had a better experience". We strive for reviews such as this and it means a great deal to us that you are sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

I hope that you enjoyed our beautiful city and will return to see us again soon!

Most sincerely, Kathleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019

Staff is very professional and friendly be prepared to be treated more like family than a guest. Rooms are sufficient and location is right in the middle of everything. Bullfinch Restaraunt attached thru the lobby serves large portions.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jcandmel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear jcandmel90

Thank you SO much for this lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you felt more like family than a guest. We strive to provide our guests with personalized, bespoke experiences and thank you again for recognizing us publicly on TA.

Until next time...!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

My stay at The Boxer was beyond great! The staff we extremely helpful, the room was cozy and the location was great. It was walking distance to great restaurants and walking distance to Mass Eye and Ear, which was the reason for my visit. The Boxer will be my place to stay in Boston!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank rebeccarL810KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen F, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Thank you rebeccarL810KN,

This is such a beautiful review...thank you so very much!! We look forward to welcoming you back when you return. Hopefully for leisure next time!

Kindly, Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews