We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot near theater area in Boston”
Review of Teatro Restaurant - CLOSED

Teatro Restaurant
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Avery Street
Transit: Boylston/Green Line
Description: Teatro Restaurant is defined by its vibrant, casual elegance in both atmosphere and food. Nestled in Boston's Theater District, Chef Jamie Mammano takes a contemporary approach to classic Italian dishes, offering craft cocktails and fine wine. The seasonal menu boasts fresh pasta, grilled thin crust pizza, charcuterie, fresh seafood and specialty meats prepared with the utmost care in our open kitchen. Whether out on the town with friends, or off to a nearby theater with a date, Teatro lends its grace to any occasion.
Reviewed 22 March 2022 via mobile

A friend and I ate at this bustling spot on Tremont Street very close to the Emerson theater and next to the Boston Common. We loved our respective dishes-each with handmade pasta. The Orecchiette Spicy Pork Sausage, Rapini, Garlic dish was good (a bit salty so I should have asked for reduced salt if possible, but still good!) and the special gnocchi dish with a sweet sauce was delicious. The salad was also excellent. Wish we had time to try out an antipasto which looked great - or maybe a small pizza. So many choices - we will have to return. I ate here a few years ago and first time back, very pleased. Make a reservation as they are quite busy. It’s also a bit noisy if you want quiet I would go at an off hour (not Saturday night!). Restroom is downstairs. Waitstaff very attentive. Bread soft and delicious. I don’t have photos since we are our food up without thinking about that (and had to get to an 8 pm show). I’ll be back!

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank 76CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2022

If you notice , I did a review where I stated that "wonderful, all around". Something has changed. It was mediocre all around. From service to the food. Rather tasteless from appetizers to entrees. We had beet salad, sausage flatbread, sausage and orecchiette ( small Plate), ribeye, swordfish and eggplant parmesan. The steak was order medium and it was served rare. Even the drinks were bad. We had to send back the ginger ale because they filled the glass with ice and there was little ginger ale. Bye-bye Teatro. Toscano- down the street would be a better choice. Not coming back.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HalzBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

Surprisingly wonderful experience! We booked a reservation not knowing what to expect. The food and service were exceptional and not overpriced! Fresh Arugula Salad, Tortellini (Burrata, Roasted Tomato Brodo, Basil) and Orecchiette (Hand Crafted Spicy Pork Sausage, Rapini, Garlic). Nice selection of wine as well. We would return again without hesitation!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 September 2021

The outside of this restaurant is fairly unassuming. The inside is nicely decorated and provides a good dining atmosphere. The place is reasonably priced and the menu has options for smaller plates or large portions. That was one of the things that helped us select this restaurant. All of our food was very tasty.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

First of all. Location, location, location. It was very surprising. The service was excellent. Thank you, Wilson. It was a little noisy, but not obtrusive. It was clear that many of the patrons were eating early to get to a show. Didn't seem to detract from the food. We started off with figs and prosciutto. Other than a little too much prosciutto, it was a wonderful dish. A little bigger figs and slightly roasted would have made this exceptional. At the same time we had the octopus. It was grilled perfectly. For main course we had the orecchiette, small plate. At the same time we had the eggplant parmigiana. We took home part of the eggplant dish. No room for dessert. We'll be back.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HalzBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Teatro Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.