We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so yummy”
Review of Cafe Bonjour

Cafe Bonjour
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #2 of 3,083 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown Crossing
Description: Our food is ethically grown, locally sourced, unprocessed/free of artificial preservatives, free of added/refined sugars & organic whenever possible. We use only free-range meat and dairy, wild caught fish, incorporate whole-grains into our dishes & take advantage of nature's seasonal bounty. We source food and product consciously for a sustainable world. We offer gluten-free, vegetarian & plant-based dishes.
Reviewed 19 September 2022

Recommended by the hotel staff for breakfast as just around the corner from our hotel. This is a smaller restuarant this is popular but we luckily did not have to wait. Our waitress was very good and quick with our food. We had nutella crepes and stuffed french toast ... both so good! The manager apologized for the crowded space but we didnt care as the food is so worth it.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank lcatawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Very seldom do we review a breakfast place but this one deserves it. Owners Driss and Hamadi Elkmokri opened it in the middle of a pandemic and their passion and expertise in French Moroccan cuisine shows through. Besides the extremely friendly attitude of the brothers constantly interacting with a long line of waiting customers, the food is spectacular.

Following some fresh orange juice we tried their hallmark dish, the Authentic Shakshuka, made with pasture raised eggs poached in a warmly spiced house made tomato sauce with smoky peppers, onions, parsley feta and serve with multigrain. It comes with a grass-fed beef kofta kebab version or with impossible plant-based kofta kebab. Wow!

The next morning we went back and had the Smoked Salmon Tartine recipe is Driss’s own creation, using flavors and ingredients from his hometown in Morocco. My wife had the Avocado Tartine. Both were a perfect balance of ingredients and flavors.

Nice job Driss and Hamadi!

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank JBMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Breakfast, nailed! Great host, service and experience. It was super busy but worth the small wait time to be seated. Breakfast has a great choice and lots of alternatives ie egg white only, plant based sausage, etc. OJ and food doesn’t get much fresher. Super tasty and clearly high quality ingredients. Great value for money.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank wee_lassy_eats_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

We ate here 6 out of 7 days here on our week in Boston, fabulous food, fantastic service and such friendly staff esp the host. The breakfast potatoes are THE BEST!! It’s busy, and a bit of a tight fit witb the tables but so worth it for the food and the service.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank stanleychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

We ate breakfast here a couple of times during our short visit to Boston and were only denied a lunch visit by the long queues which demonstrate its popularity. The staff are lovely and the food is excellent. We sat at the 'bar' on our first visit and were able to marvel at the way they managed the busy service. Just loved this place and would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bonjour also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bonjour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.