We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
150
226
120
53
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
226
120
53
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews td garden friend street hi express the north end celtics game slow elevator td center the breakfast area valet parking quincy market free breakfast freedom trail short walk front desk staff hotel is located yogurt ice machine
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The location is adjacent to TD Garden Arena with several local fan bars on the street. The outside is unassuming giving a clue to the interior. The hotel needs a face lift to keep the IHG brand standard. The staff is friendly, marginally helpful, and somewhat efficient. The standard double room for an IHG platinum member included a crooked bathroom door that squeaked and barked each time it was opened or closed. The interior of the room was worn and stuffy. Paint was peeling and the antique bath tub discolored. Friend Street is within walking distance of North End T stop and Little Italy. This hotel was about $50 per night cheaper than higher end hotels in the area and vacation rentals in the Back Bay area. If I was planning a tourist trip to see the sights in this area of Boston, I would pay a few extra hard earned dollars and go someplace else nearby or plan to take public transportation, but I would not stay here again. It’s not bad, it’s just nothing special at $350 per night. So much for IGH brand loyalty.

Room Tip: Upgrade above standard room
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank togojjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Awesome and attentive staff. Older building but kept up nicely. Can't beat the location for an event at or near TD Garden. Valet parking was smooth and affordable.

Checkin, cleaning staff, FREE breakfast attendants went above and beyond.

Thank you for your super customer service in an era where it is lost!

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VERMONTER23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a lot going for it - great location, great staff, great service, good complimentary breakfast, and very clean. My room was a bit small but provided everything I needed. The location is a quick walk to restaurants, bars, and Boston Garden. Cheap Uber ride to Fenway ($13.32) during rush hour; less than $10 on the return trip.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank n2n8ture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

While location is wonderful and within walking distance to many things, this hotel is severely aging. AC broke one night and as windows are inoperable in room and fixed shut, room was stifling making sleep impossible. Bathtub would not drain so showering in ankle deep water. Staff very friendly, but would not stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Lucca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Hello Lucca2013. We appreciate your review and thank you for being our guest. We apologize that you had AC issues and bathtub issues. I hope the team was able to assist. Thank you for mentioning they were very friendly. I will be sure to share with the team as they will be happy to read this!
Thank you and please return and be our guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Everything was great especially the breakfast attendant. The front desk for check in was very friendly and customer service oriented. Too bad the check out person didn't have the same friendly attitude. Maybe he was having a bad day!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 960bertf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews