We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant great service”

Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #105 of 6,309 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Take a walk around the heart of downtown San Francisco and you’ll come across Ryoko’s Japanese Restaurant and Bar -- a neighborhood staple that’s been around for 30 years. Walk down the stairs, and you’ve entered our high energy, underground restaurant. You’ll immediately be greeted by our team as we transport you to Tokyo in a restaurant steeped in Japanese decor and culture. Our food is authentic as can be, with things like our own distinctive style of miso soup and rice that's cooked with vinegar we make in-house. Our seafood is delivered fresh every single day for a distinctive, delectable flavor that’ll keep you returning time and time again.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I went here with the business group that was in town for a convention. We had great saki several rounds of excellent sushi and everything we tried was outstanding. Very cozy, very nice, and wonderful service. I will go back anytime.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank bigdawgsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reiko K, General Manager at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Scott, thanks for the great review! We love serving you up some great sushi -- drop back in soon.

Best,
The Team at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped in as it was close to my hotel, but wow so good! Easy to sit at the sushi bar. Friendly and attentive service! Sushi so fresh and baked sushi who knew. The jumping rolls were so good, plum wine and sake was nice. Just overall great... even went back for a second night!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Getmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reiko K, General Manager at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thanks for the awesome review! You'll have to come back in and see us again very soon.

Best,
The Team at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

You know what they say about hole in the wall places...normally some of the best. This holds to that standard. This is a hidden gem off the beaten path but so worth it. We managed to beat the crowd because by the time we left the the line was up the stairs and out the door. This is an old school sushi place, small and delicious.

We had miso soup, tempura vegetables and shrimp and that night the Chefs dinner which was Chefs choice of sashimi. You had no idea what you were getting but it was all delicious.

This was my second time here and I almost missed it, because I had forgoten the name. Lucky for me someone recommended it and it was the place I has looking for. Highly recommend you go here if you are looking for great sushi.

My only knock was the service was a bit slow.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reiko K, General Manager at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

We're happy to hear we could impress you! We're honored to be your hidden gem in the Bay Area. Come back in very soon to see us again.

Best,
The Team at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This is the best sushi I've ever had. The restaurant is in the basement and sort of a hole in the wall but from the line of people waiting to be seated, you can tell it's a hot spot. Service was quick and polite. We sat at the sushi bar and even the sushi chefs we friendly and interested in making sure we were pleased. Will definitely return again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ajstein612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reiko K, General Manager at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks for the high praise! It's such a pleasure to be able to serve you -- you'll have to come back in to see us again soon.

Best,
The Team at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Arriving from Europe, we went to the Ryoko for dinner on April 1st.
Dinner there was a great experience. Great food and nice atmosphere (at least for people who enjoys electronic music).
Service was equally excellent.
Réservation is mandatory because the waiting queue has been long during our dinner there.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank dorianj982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reiko K, General Manager at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dorian, we're so happy to hear we could impress you so much! Thanks for the awesome feedback -- you'll definitely have to come back in to see us again soon.

Best,
The Team at Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ryoko's Japanese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing