We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveller rating
959
443
112
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
443
112
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grace cathedral nob hill big restaurant infinity pool piano bar spa area cable car steam room california street union square upgraded to a suite an upgrade room service mark hopkins beautiful hotel hotel guests car service
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We had a nice stay here. The hotel is in a nice location on nob hill across from Grace cathedral.
The pillows were not to my liking the first night but I asked for different ones and they were much better.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank maryaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Maryaling,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very kind review. We truly appreciate guest feedback like yours, and are so happy when guests let us know while they are at the Hotel when something isn't just right so that we can do our very best to fix it. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location on beautiful Nob Hill, across from Grace Cathedral and Huntington Park, yet just a short stroll from the City's business, arts, civic and convention centers (or Fisherman's Wharf and the Bay in the other direction). We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We booked 3 nights here for a long weekend getaway from home in Seattle. We booked throught the American Express luxury hotel program, and we were not disappointed.

Check in was quick and easy and we were upgraded to a suite. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Immediately upon check in they delivered coffee and tea to our room.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent, and the location is a perfect base for exploring the city by foot, uber, or cable car. Of course, it was also very nice just to explore the Cathedral and relax in the nice park across the street.

The concierge Juan was very helpful in finding restaurants and activities,and in helping us navigate around town.

Check out was a breeze, and they even included a transfer to the airport. Everything about our stay was delightful, and we will definitely stay here again.

Thank you Scarlet Huntington.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Matthew D,

Thank you very much for your inspiring review, and for being our guest at The Scarlet Huntington. Our entire team is committed to ensuring that from check-in onward, the guest experience meets and exceeds the excellent luxury standards of the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts program, and we are delighted to hear that we hit the mark! In fact, we want all of guests to enjoy "beautiful and comfortable" accommodations, an "excellent" dining experience in our Big 4 Restaurant, a positive and helpful interaction with every member of our Staff, and an all around "delightful" stay. Thank you, too, for recognizing our concierge Juan, who goes above-and-beyond to help whenever needed. Wonderful guests like you make it a privilege and pleasure to be of service, and we much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a smallish hotel, with a tiny lobby and a dark bar/restaurant. We were upgraded from an executive room to a generously sized two room suite. The view looked out over Grace Cathedral and Huntington Park and the buildings surrounding the park, all on the tippy top of Nob Hill. Beyond the buildings, we were high enough to see the bay. Very nice. The bar was nice for an evening drink before heading out to dinner, but the dark lighting was not an appealing effect for breakfast in the morning. Otherwise staff was lovely, helpful, cheerful, yet unobtrusive. The hotel is adjacent to the Nob Hill Spa, for which all services, including using the pool costs extra. The fitness room is small and not well equipped. However, walking up and down the extreme sloped hills surrounding the hotel serves as an exercise plan in and of itself. Uber and Lyft are popular and recommended to get around town, as well as a means to get to and from SFO.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank DoctorQ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear DoctorQ777,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review of your positive experiences at our luxury Hotel perched atop Nob Hill. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your suite with views of San Francisco Bay and of our stunning neighbor, Grace Cathedral and the serene City oasis, Huntington Park. We appreciate your kind words for our lovely staff, who are genuine in being "helpful, cheerful yet unobtrusive" and always eager to assist whenever needed. The Bar in our Big 4 Restaurant is a San Francisco classic, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy a drink there before venturing off into the City. For your next stay, the Big 4 Restaurant is itself a dinner destination not to be missed. Access to our award winning Nob Hill Spa, which you mention, is complimentary for anyone booking a treatment, and is also available with certain rate plans. Please ask our in house Hotel Reservations Manager Gary for details when booking your next stay. We would be honored and delighted to be your "home away from home" in San Francisco, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for around a week on vacation. Location is good, but be aware of steepness of the walk to/from Union Square, Fisherman’s Wharf etc....neither are far, but the hotel is on the top of the hill........there is a nice small park immediately opposite and the area is upscale. Service at the hotel is really fantastic from front desk, to bellboys to maids and everyone else. Room are immaculate and well furnished, with top quality bedding etc. Wifi is good. We were upgraded to a suite which was enormous, and very comfortable. The bar is very dark/traditional, again with good service and a nice range of food but somewhat ruined (for us anyway) by the loud and persistent pianist who never seemed to stop. The hotel gym is a bit of a joke frankly and a real let-down for a place this size - just 2 cardio machines (no treadmill) and one weights machine. Every time I used the gym at least one person came in and left irritated because there was nothing free to use. Would happily stay here again but only if I didn’t want to take any exercise..........

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Dazer6666,

Thank you for your kind review. We feel privileged that you chose The Scarlet Huntington, and hope that your upgrade to a spacious and comfortable suite made for a great vacation in beautiful San Francisco. As you no doubt experienced, we have some of the City's largest suites which feature stunning views. I am glad that you enjoyed excellent service both in the Hotel and in our Big 4 Restaurant. Our location atop Nob Hill is indeed an upscale and safe location across from the historic Huntington Park, yet only a stone's throw from the City's many attractions. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while we visited San Fransico and we were very happy we did.

The Hotel itself is beautiful and the staff is fantastic.
The man who checked us in was very nice and explained all of the services offered. Unfortunately, I cannot remember his name but he was great none the less.
James at the front door was always so friendly and Ursula,the driver of the hotels complimentary car drop service, was excellent. It was pouring rain and she took us to Union square to shop, which was so convenient.
Juan at the concierge desk was a total sweetheart and provided awesome recommendations for where to go and what to do.

The first night we booked an 830 reservation and ate at the hotel's restaurant called The Big 4. Everything was great from the ambiance to the food. The chicken pot pie is as food as they say it is. We also had drinks in the piano bar afterwards, which we really enjoyed.

After touring around the second day, we bought some beer and wine on the way back to the hotel and enjoyed our view of the park and the cathedral, which is a stunning view by the way. We then ordered room service from The Big 4 because we knew the food would be good and we didn't feel like going out in the rain. We both ordered the burger and fries and it was delicious. It also came within 20 minutes of ordering and the man who delivered it set up our table for us and was very kind.

Highly recommend this hotel and its restaurant.
It is very close to the amazing shopping at Union Square and has lots of great bars around it like Hopwater Distribution Co. and Stookey's Club.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LaurStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear LaurStew,

Thank you so much for the privilege of being our guests, and for all of your gracious compliments. I am especially happy that you had such positive interactions with many of our five star staff members, who truly value the pleasure of serving wonderful guests like you. It sounds like you had a great San Francisco experience, even in the rain, and I am happy that The Scarlet Huntington Team were able to do their part to make this a reality. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews