We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster sandwich in the area bar non”

The Travelin Lobster
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

all are made fresh and the sandwiches are large and my wife and her friend do not let me drive by without making a stop here. Everything is done inside this small building up on the hill with parking all around it. Picnic tables all outdoor eating
a great place kept very clean.They always find a place for us to sit down and also to park. You will love this Gem of a place.
woth looking for when in the area. Full lobster dinners as well.
again, this is one you do not want to miss. Great people.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Travelin Lobster, Owner at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This fun family-owned-and-run restaurant was a gem. The prices were great. The seafood was so fresh! The order taker so kind. They had fun and festive grouped outdoor picnic seating, some around gas fire pits. Line was already 8 deep when we arrived, (get there EARLY or order online) and the wait long, but worth it as had been advertised on TA. Our order taker softened the wait by thanking us immediately for our patience and took our order. The wait to get the food seemed a little long, and others got their food who had ordered after us. We got the 1.25lb lobster dinners with mussels, corn on the cob and one side of slaw, drawn warm butter was included. The price was great. The food was great, totally deliciou. The freshest lobster I've ever eaten, and I grew up on the Atlantic Ocean. This would have been a 5 star and out of the park except for a few details: we didn't ask, but no offer was made to pre-cut our lobsters open, nor were any kind of utensils offered or included to help us get into them; good thing we both travel with an old pair of kitchen meat scissors (we're adding a nutcracker and picks) also absent were two classic plastic lobster bibs (we're messy eaters). We took our meals to go, and had a great time slurping and fighting with our lobsters back at our hotel. 100% we will go back to Travelin' Lobster and this time, I'm wearing a big plastic garbage bag when I eat it!!!! Enjoy Bon Appetit!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank DsWonderfulWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Travelin Lobster, Owner at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for stopping by. Our lobster crackers are given to customers eating on site along with all the other gear for eating lobster in the shell. Lobsters to go are routinely not cracked open however if requested we are happy to. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stop for authentic Maine outside dining experience. The owner is a lobster fisherman and your meal could not be any more fresh. Service with a smile and history lesson in for free . Ran out of pie but those who did get it would not stop talking about how good it was. Fun place for all.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Travelin Lobster, Owner at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Happy you got some time with the captain safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This outdoor restaurant will give you a true Maine experience. The food is absolutely delicious, and I loved eating outside at a picnic table.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank ldenton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

We went here twice on a recent visit to Acadia, and both nights were great. We had rolls and chowder and it was about the best we had while in town. The line gets long, so get there by about five.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank adshort204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
732hankt, General Manager at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

thank you folks for taking time to write us a nice review.So happy you enjoyed your food and for coming twice. The lines this summer were quite long. We are planning to expand our kitchen area for next season which should help move the line allot faster. Again thank you very much! Hank T. The Original Travelin' Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Travelin Lobster also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Travelin Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.