We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced food / no great taste”

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
Ranked #51 of 118 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location. Looked very appealing. We rated this restaurant bottom on our list of 7 restaurants on a 7 day trip to Maine. Food was mediocre at best. Paid $28 for a lobster roll that had so little lobster meat it was a disgrace. Didn’t even meet the end of a hot dog bun. Sides were cold on arrival with the lobster roll. Mashed potatoes were so cold to the touch! Carrots were from a can. Not a good experience at all. Very overpriced everything from food to drinks. My husband and our friends had awful meals too. Left hungry and wallet lighter.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When seasons hits people will stop here for the view but the food... not the best. They will tell you it is all measured out and weighed and not taste or customer satisfaction. With so many other options I go up the street just a little further.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank fez0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the atmosphere, food and some staff were great... our server was NOT! The good - the place is adorable, right on the water with great views. My sister said their clam chowder was her favorite of our entire trip, and the burger I had was delish. The hostess was very pleasant as well. The not so good- our server. We never did catch his name but it seemed like we were an inconveniencing him to be there. Very rude, including some eyerolls! We are not fussy people and did not ask for extras or make him take extra trips for things and are friendly people ourselves so I'm not sure what his deal was. The rest of the staff we observed seemed just fine, it was just ours I guess. Everyone has their off days, but when you are in the service industry, sometimes you need to just slap that smile on your face.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosieK360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a late lunch featuring a bowl of clam chowder and lobster roll. Both great. Excellent view from outside deck.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dined here with family for dinner on a chilly May evening. Very large waterfront restaurant with multi-level decks to accommodate a high volume of patrons. Host service was weak - we told host we would be four, but that our children would not be arriving for a few minutes - we were seated at a table for four but we were only given two menus and two place settings until we reminded that we would be four. The problem was fixed. Strong emphasis on Maine seafood - all the specialties you expect here - chowders, lobster, clams, haddock...Not the best, but good enough and even better when combined with such a nice location. Server was quite slow however - left us sitting too long on more than one point in our meal. Fortunately, someone else brought the food out, so the food arrived promptly. Note that most tables are picnic or high-top tables with no seatbacks - beware if you have back problems. Nice background music.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CTMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.